User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: CD70 CD unit replacement

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    norfolk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default CD70 CD unit replacement

    Hi all,

    Does anyone know where i can get a cd unit for the CD70?

    My daughter put some coins in the slot, now it wont do anything. Even after removing the whole unit and removing all the coins.

    Wondering if the cd part of the CD70 has an independent fuse that could have blown?

  2. #2
    Regular Member marktaylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    theres a 15 amp fuse on the back of the unit

  3. #3
    Full Member Niall83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belfast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    AirBox Mod-Angel Eye head lights-HID 5000k-Colour coded grill-GID to CID-Auto Dim rear view Mirror, Rear Parking Sensors, Signum Fog surrounds, 19" Audi A5 rep Alloys, Eibach 30mm Pro-kit Lowering Springs.
    Northern Ireland Region trip to Knockhill 2014

  4. #4
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    142 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    142 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by t1m View Post
    Hi all,

    Does anyone know where i can get a cd unit for the CD70?

    My daughter put some coins in the slot, now it wont do anything. Even after removing the whole unit and removing all the coins.

    Wondering if the cd part of the CD70 has an independent fuse that could have blown?
    I'd be interested in buying the old one if you do get rid, could use it for spare parts for mine
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    norfolk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I am literally just looking for the CD drive, everything else works fine.

    I thought there maybe a separate fuse just for the CD drive as there seems to be no power getting to it.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    norfolk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    seems its Philips unit

    CDM M6 4.7/84

    Also used in a Renault megane , probably many others too.

    Buy brand new from here.

    http://www.navigatie-onderdelen.nl/e...oopwerken/Opel

    Think i might try and find out what other head units they are in and try a pick up a cheap one of eBay.

  7. #7
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    142 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    142 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ah, good call on that, the power to the drive is through the ribbon cables on the cd sledge, hopefully its just a mechanical problem and not shorted something out on the pcbs
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    norfolk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plasma View Post
    ah, good call on that, the power to the drive is through the ribbon cables on the cd sledge, hopefully its just a mechanical problem and not shorted something out on the pcbs

    alas i think its shorted , got a smell today !

    tbh i now thinking is it worth it , when you can mp3 stream via a fm adapter

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    norfolk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quick update !!

    Managed to get hold of a 2nd hand cd70 unit for a very decent price, swapped the cd drive over..no problems !
    Turned on the cd70 ....inserted cd .... display read " no disc inserted " . Balls i thought!
    So I disconnected the whole head unit of all the cables etc and then reconnected it all.
    Crossed my fingers turned it on and it worked !!.

    Sweet sound of MP3 again !!!

    Best thing is now I have got a up to date Nav disc as well, as it was left in the drive and a bunch of spares !

  10. #10
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    142 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    142 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    excellent result... so what spares you got for it then?
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. replacement head unit
    By stefan in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th January 2012, 22:56
  2. Touchscreen Head Unit replacement
    By jacko39 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30th November 2009, 00:16
  3. Replacement of n/s headlight unit
    By Gordonhoose in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th September 2009, 17:27
  4. Help needed on cd70 satnav unit your opinions on the unit please!!
    By maddogwhite27 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th January 2009, 10:22
  5. Head Unit replacement
    By falco in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th December 2007, 11:01

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •