User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: question for all the windows 7 gurus

  1. #1
    Regular Member hoochydady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused question for all the windows 7 gurus

    rite im looking at buying a code scanner and software now the guy thats selling them tells me that it can run on win 7 with VMWare Player. now i see a lot of peeps having problems with vmware any 1 used it? and had problems installing it? and will it run ok on windows 7 home premium

  2. #2
    Regular Member Innes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Plymouth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've ran vmware on my mac at work but haven't plugged a scanner in it though. For my scanner I have used my wifes win7 laptop. All I had to do was run it in xp compatibility mode. Right click on the .exe file and you can select xp under the compatibilty tab.

  3. #3
    Regular Member rich r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Selby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Also consider VirtualBox for running a virtual Windows XP machine in, as this also allows you to map the USB ports onto the virtual machine.

    Quite a lot of the EOBD software works fine in Windows 7, though you may have to set compatibility mode on some.

  4. #4
    Regular Member vectraboyy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have Opcom, and mine works fine on Windows 7 without vmware.
    I just run it i windows xp compatible mode.

  5. #5
    Regular Member robengland9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    london
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    sorry to drift away slightly from windows 7 but still on ECU scanner subject....using vista ... I can connect to ECU with lead and with software supplied reads
    data RPM,TEMP etc but can not read fault codes.. I contacted supplier but
    says I need other software as my car is newer model facelift after 2006. With vista on my
    laptop and some features on his software dont run properly even when I changed compatibility to XP on vista settings. I then connected
    to my desk top pc that had XP and software worked ok reading data but could
    still not read fault codes.
    Anyone has software that reads fault codes on newer models?....

  6. #6
    Regular Member hoochydady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    its not for op-com its for renault software i have op-com runing on my laptop have had it for ages no probs with it i also have a host of obd software i use for my elm scanner had a try at instaling virtual pc its not compatible with my version of win 7, rob pm me and i will give you a link to where the version of the op-com im running is

  7. #7
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    326 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    Got virtual machine running on Win7 as a download from Micro****e's website, running XP on it, can see all of my harddrive as a 'share', can see the printers, internet and bluetooth mouse as well
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

  8. #8
    Regular Member hoochydady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    im runing windows home 7 prem and its saying under virtual pc winows xp isnt av under this edition oft think i may have to install xp or a new partition with xp on my lappy if im going to buy the scanner and software lol

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question for the IT gurus around here...
    By sinless in forum General Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 1st November 2012, 18:12
  2. Question for ICE gurus
    By Chip in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th August 2012, 20:29
  3. Tech question for the IT gurus...
    By macdad in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th July 2012, 19:50
  4. Rear Electric Windows Question
    By Bethan39 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 27th May 2010, 19:16
  5. Windows lisence question
    By aerodynamic18 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 27th April 2009, 13:31

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •