User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: OEM Parking Sensors with aftermarket module

  1. #1
    Regular Member djr69uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default OEM Parking Sensors with aftermarket module

    Hi

    I've picked up a bumper with OEM parking sensors installed. They use 3 wires each. 2 are the same colour for each sensor and 1 is unique to each sensor.

    My aftermarket sensors have just 2 wires each. I want to try to get the OEM sensors to work with the aftermarket module.

    Anyone think this is possible - or has done this?

  2. #2
    Regular Member yysnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Try this with spare sensor...

    Aftermarket sensors normally use 2 wires.
    If you open the aftermarket parking control unit, it's not difficult to find out the common wire of each sensor, this will be connecot to PIN 2 (middle) of the Vx parking sensor

    Connect 1 and 3 together to the other wire and try, if this doesn't work, try to put PIN3 to Vcc (normally 5V ) of your parking control unit or put this pin to ground.

  3. #3
    Regular Member djr69uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yysnet View Post
    Try this with spare sensor...

    Aftermarket sensors normally use 2 wires.
    If you open the aftermarket parking control unit, it's not difficult to find out the common wire of each sensor, this will be connecot to PIN 2 (middle) of the Vx parking sensor

    Connect 1 and 3 together to the other wire and try, if this doesn't work, try to put PIN3 to Vcc (normally 5V ) of your parking control unit or put this pin to ground.

    Hi mate, thanks for your help.

    I connected pin 2 to earth on the aftermarket sensor wire and pin 1 to the other wire and I got 2 beeps from the module as if it were detecting something in range - but then it just goes silent. So then I connected pin 3 to the same wire and nothing. Then tried pin 3 to earth on the car and the module went dead lol! Turned ignition off and back on and it was fine again. Tinkered for a few minutes but killed the module a couple more times - so gave up! Probably didn't try every combination but don't think it wants to work.

    Thanks again, but think I'll have to keep on looking for a cheap PP kit

  4. #4
    Regular Member yysnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    LOL PIN 3 is a common control pin. I am not sure what this pin for unless i have one sensor to try.

    BTW, some aftermarket parking sensor will calibrate itself, so if you power it up without the sensor plugged it won't work.

  5. #5
    Regular Member djr69uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yysnet View Post
    LOL PIN 3 is a common control pin. I am not sure what this pin for unless i have one sensor to try.

    BTW, some aftermarket parking sensor will calibrate itself, so if you power it up without the sensor plugged it won't work.

    Do you have an aftermarket style control unit? If so I'd happily send you an OEM sensor to test with?

  6. #6
    Regular Member rich r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Selby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It all depends on what make/model the sensors are. There are only a few sorts around, but if the OEM system uses one type and the aftermarket system uses another then the data communication between them is unlikely to work.

    Some sensor units have intelligence, and the control unit sends them a data command to ask them to do a measurement. Others are just the transducer, so rely on the control unit to generate the outgoing pulse and listen for the reply then work out the time delay etc.

    But like I say - there aren't that many types around, so it may well go!

  7. #7
    Regular Member yysnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djr69uk View Post
    Do you have an aftermarket style control unit? If so I'd happily send you an OEM sensor to test with?
    Yes, at least my aftermarket control units do so. If i power it up without a sensor it doesn't work...

    If you can send me one then i can have a try.

  8. #8
    Regular Member markm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Some control modules have three wires, Ground, Reverse light feed(+) and a Power (12V), if you have a tow bar / trailer some parking sensors will remember the trailer,

    check the manufacuture of the kit as you can normally see the instructions

  9. #9
    Regular Member djr69uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    So do we know how, or what mode of operation the OEM sensors work with park pilot? Maybe I just need to locate an aftermarket unit that behaves similarly?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fitting aftermarket parking sensors to XP 'd rear bumper
    By 2.2 oil burner in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th February 2012, 22:45
  2. fitting aftermarket rear parking sensors
    By taffy bhoy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 9th September 2011, 19:45
  3. Aftermarket Parking Sensors
    By ABS_Mouse in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 3rd December 2010, 21:21
  4. Vauxhall Aftermarket Parking Sensors
    By Craig Rogers in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th May 2008, 14:18
  5. aftermarket parking sensors
    By vectragsi3.2 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 10th April 2008, 20:20

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c aftermarket park pilot

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •