User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Tech2 Interface

  1. #1
    Regular Member Kamikazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    United Arab Emirates
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats






  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    lets you use a laptop with the appropriate tech2 software, instead of using the tech2 'palmtop'(must have big palms it's huge).

    it converts the OBD compliant socket to an RS232..

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well yes .... but i says nothing of wich protocols it supports!

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gsi3.2
    ...with the appropriate tech2 software, instead of using the tech2
    Silly question, but is there "tech2 software" that runs on something other than a ("real") Tech 2 unit? Or is this just for reading trouble codes? In other words, can a laptop with this interface be used as a Tech 2 substitue? My guess is "no".

  5. #5
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    287 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    Ok i know a little about this subject, Most Vx Vectra used the canbus interface which I believe is ISO 15765-4. Tech2 software is specifically for the Tech2 handheld device which is manufactered by Vetronix, link to site http://www.hickleyvaltone.com/diagnostics/ad400.php

    Most laptops use software such as Scanmaster to interface with the ODB port via a provided lead with the package. You can in theory reset fault codes and check some live engine data. Although as of this data I'm having issue's with the software. This may be down to my car being FULL canbus but on earlier production models pre 05 it will work fine. The major thing these type of packages cannot do is to write to the ECU like the Tech2 can for such functions as altering menu options for turning devices on and off, adding extra items etc etc.

    HTH

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ODB Interface
    By Golfboy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 1st October 2010, 14:12
  2. ELM 323 Interface
    By frenchman in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd October 2009, 22:19
  3. Can Bus Interface
    By bnam in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th August 2008, 11:27

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •