User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Remap question.

  1. #1
    Regular Member StephNET's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Question Remap question.

    I know from reading other posts on here that a remap screws up the instant consumption figures reported by the trip computer. Does the projected range remain accurate, or does this become false as well? This is on a 1.9 CDTi.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Full Member GazVXLINE170's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRI VX-Line Nav

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI [170 PS]

    Year : 2015

    Mileage : 27000

    Default

    The computer is inaccurate anyway - the BC once told me that from a full tank I used 10Gal = 45.40ltres. When I filled it upto the same point (pump clicked in fuel filler), the pump said 52ltres.

    To my knowledge a remap shouldn't affect the onboard computer as the ECU knows what the remap is doing unlike a tuning box which 'tricks' the ECU.

    Gazza4
    Insignia VX-Line Nav CDTI 170.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    as above, remaps do not fool the obc like the tuning box

  4. #4
    Full Member Aikon58's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Englandshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : shatch- sports hatch

    Trim : cheap plastics

    Engine : metal

    Year : 1901

    Mileage : 999

    Default

    I am getting single figures in my instant display when i pull away with my remap on,and an average of 37 mpg on a 25 mile dual carriagway/a road run,with my tuning box on i was getting 60 mpg average on the computer,but still only getting 38 mpg actual

  5. #5
    Regular Member GTS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Mine (cdti 120) after remapping shows less fuel consumtion and bigger ranges. hope this is true. Unless I believe it, I'm satisfied

  6. #6
    Regular Member DeanF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Why the instant Mpg Computer displays an incorrect figure....

    Intercepting the Rail Pressure sensor is the key to Tuning Boxes. The ECU/engine will control the pressure, and it uses its sensor to confirm this. This figure is vital for the ECU to know the fuel quantity.
    Adding a resistor into this sensor circuit passes the wrong information to the ECU. What was 1500bar is now reported as 1400bar, so the ECU will activate the high pressure injection pump to raise the pressure by 100bar above the sensor value. The extra pressure will force more diesel through the open injector, and as mentioned, for a diesel, more fuel = more power.

    Basic Diesel Theory

    Taken form Here

    http://www.endtuning.com/dieseltuningboxes.html

  7. #7
    Full Member GazVXLINE170's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRI VX-Line Nav

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI [170 PS]

    Year : 2015

    Mileage : 27000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DeanF View Post
    Why the instant Mpg Computer displays an incorrect figure....
    Well you answered your own question dean:

    Quote Originally Posted by DeanF View Post
    Intercepting the Rail Pressure sensor is the key to Tuning Boxes. The ECU/engine will control the pressure, and it uses its sensor to confirm this. This figure is vital for the ECU to know the fuel quantity.
    Adding a resistor into this sensor circuit passes the wrong information to the ECU. What was 1500bar is now reported as 1400bar, so the ECU will activate the high pressure injection pump to raise the pressure by 100bar above the sensor value. The extra pressure will force more diesel through the open injector, and as mentioned, for a diesel, more fuel = more power.

    Basic Diesel Theory

    Taken form Here

    http://www.endtuning.com/dieseltuningboxes.html
    The ECU effectively thinks that the fuel rail is at a lower pressure hence raises fuel rail pressure which means more fuel. For example take a standard CDTI at 1500bar is pushing 10units of fuel per second. If the the ECU is duped into thinking that this is happening at 1400bar, then when it compensates (which is why it increases the work of the high pressure fuel pump), at 1500bar there is now 10.72units of fuel per second. Also fuel rail pressure is maintained regardless of engine speed too afaik. All the box does is make the ECU think there is less fuel being pumped into the engine.

    However this is happening at a lower Air to fuel ratio now as well - hence the black smoke. This can lead to possibly unburned fuel.

    Remaps will change the turbo settings too as I understand hence more and more fuel - maintaining roughly the same air to fuel ratio. At idle deisels have an air to fuel ratio of about 40:1, then by the time it gets to full load/maximum horse power it has dropped to about 18:1.

    Gazza4
    Insignia VX-Line Nav CDTI 170.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Right here, right now.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRI

    Engine : 3.0 V6 CDTI

    Year : 2007

    Default

    Good article Dean, very interesting.

  9. #9
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRI NAV XP

    Engine : 1.9 CDTI 150

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 72K

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aikon58 View Post
    I am getting single figures in my instant display when i pull away with my remap on,and an average of 37 mpg on a 25 mile dual carriagway/a road run,with my tuning box on i was getting 60 mpg average on the computer,but still only getting 38 mpg actual
    Remapping makes no difference to the instant mpg displayed if you put your foot down fully. On my old 2.0T it was 7.1 mpg, and on my diesel 11.1 mpg.

  10. #10
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRI NAV XP

    Engine : 1.9 CDTI 150

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 72K

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GTS View Post
    Mine (cdti 120) after remapping shows less fuel consumtion and bigger ranges. hope this is true. Unless I believe it, I'm satisfied
    That is certainly possible, given that you don't make too much use of the extra power/torque at your disposal.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. hi all remap question
    By matt450 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th October 2012, 19:16
  2. Remap question?/
    By Governor in forum East (RO - WhiskyNo7, ARO - Plasma)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th June 2012, 13:48
  3. remap question???
    By azz man in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 1st August 2010, 22:34
  4. remap question
    By big rich in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 15th December 2008, 14:46
  5. Question about BSR Remap
    By Turbo Signum in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th February 2007, 20:08

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •