User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: aircon re-fill can broke my car!!!!

  1. #1
    Regular Member dannydm1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    leeds / wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default aircon re-fill can broke my car!!!!

    hi all, i recently bought a refill aircon can from halfords. the aircon was blowing cold, but i thought id just top it up.

    once i used it the aircon no longer worked! just warm air!

    i thought i may have done it wrong and the gasses escaped during the refill, so i took to quickfit, and asked the to re-gass, they did this, but this had no affect whatsoever.

    any idea whats gone wrong????

    thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member jatint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kilmarnock
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Did they use a dye and check for leaks?

  3. #3
    Regular Member dannydm1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    leeds / wakefield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    not that im aware of.... when i told them that i had used a diy-recharge can they said that they should be banned and that thats probley caused the problem,

    they seemed reluctant to help, as the offer that have is that if they cant reduce the temp by 10% they wont charge for the re-gassing, and that seemed to know that regassing wont mend it.....

    any ideas why one of these diy-cans would damage the aircon system??

  4. #4
    Regular Member rich r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Selby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I believe these cans are set to become illegal soon anyway from a potential pollution point of view. You just cannot properly fill modern aircon systems with the inaccurate guesswork the cans use. There's no flushing with an inert gas, no checking for leaks and no correct amount of suitable oil added either.

    As for what you could have done - the most likely I can think of is that you've opened up a leak somewhere. This will be very obvious when you take it to the aircon specialist anyway, as one of the standard things to do is to put in a dye that shows up any leaks. Plus they'll pressurised the system with an inert gas and monitor it's pressure which will show any leaks.

    Overall, I reckon you'll be fine - maybe need a couple of new rubber seals somewhere.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Ademusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dunstable
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I don't see the point in risking damaging the aircon system with the cans when it doesn't cost much for a full regas nowadays, especially when places like kwik-fit do special offers on regassing (£25.00 I think I paid last year) Hope you get it sorted mate, don't know why the can would damage the system but I'm sure if you have it checked out you'll find the answer.

  6. #6
    Regular Member nutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Central England
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : very

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : Nosey

    Default

    You may have over pressurised the system and damaged the pressure switch.

  7. #7
    Regular Member chewy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quickfit?!?!!? sheesh!!

  8. #8
    Regular Member lee gsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hampshire (Near Havant) . .Drives: Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi

    Year : 2005

    Default

    Could be anything.

    Over gassed it (Needs a set amount of gas in it)
    When filling added dust or other particulates or allowed moisture to enter the system.

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I fix aircon on a daily basis and if you say that the aircon worked fine before, then I think nutron may have a point. When the system is very low or empty of r134a, the pressure switch will not allow the system to work, otherwise the compressor would last two minutes. Similarly, if you overfill it the pressure switch will cut out the compressor as soon as the clutch engages. An overfilled system is usually indicated by the compressor clutch banging in and out repeatedly. So, if you have overfilled it (as I suspect), the switch may have stuck/failed as a result. That is the cheapest thing to try first. It would involve a de-gas and vacuum down, replace the switch then mega important to vacuum down the system for AT LEAST 45 minutes (gets rid of every trace of moisture that has entered the system - very very important). Then a re-gas with the correct amount of r134a and the system injected with the correct amount and viscosity of oil. This can ONLY be done with a proper Aircon machine. Without looking at the car I can't give much more to go on, but I'd start with the switch. Good luck
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  10. #10
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Too much gas is worse than not enough.

    Although i have to ask why you touched it when you had no idea what gas was in it, if any had leaked at all and the fact it worked ok!

    The refrigerant needs to be weighed into the system, not just guessed.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Aircon problems - Not working, if anything air gets hotter turning on aircon???
    By Coupe2T in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th July 2012, 10:13
  2. when to fill the car up??????
    By dannyjpuk in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 18th April 2010, 15:36
  3. Just broke broke bit of my dash
    By Graeme in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd May 2009, 17:15
  4. When do you fill up?
    By fandango in forum General Chat
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 9th March 2009, 17:42
  5. Change aircon to auto-aircon?
    By um20 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th March 2007, 22:12

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •