User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Internet Explorer Issue

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Internet Explorer Issue

    Just had a new Dell laptop - everything working fine until I switched it on earlier.

    Basically, when I open up a new tab or open up a new window - nothing loads. Doesnt freeze etc, just doesnt open. Tried reinstalling IE8 and that has done nothing.

    Anyy tech-wise suggestions most welcome!

  2. #2
    Regular Member Exclusive BV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    West Midlands
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Is the single tab working ok i.e. loading pages?

    I think there is a setting for tab control along the lines of.............

    When I open a new tab...... either

    A) open my home page
    or
    B) do nothing

  3. #3
    Regular Member westonprawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    TELFORD
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I had this on Win7 I had to right click the IE icon and choose "open new window"

    As mentioned above there should be a setting for the tab tbo the laptop got sent back before I had chance to investigate further Lol

    Justin

  4. #4
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The dreaded dead tab
    I found a fix for this on my main computer, although slow to respond at least it does now

    From memory I rolled back to IE 6 and upgraded to IE 8

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Page loads on its own just fine - when I go to bbc.co.uk/news for example, and then want to open up the sport page in a new tab, it opens the new tab but the page is totally blank.

    It doesnt load at all, even with a CNTRL F5 refresh either.


  6. #6
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Download this http://webtrickz.com/wp-content/uplo...ix_IE8Win7.reg


    Download this registry file and run it. Click ‘Yes’ when dialog box appears to add it to Windows registry. Hope it works!

    Irmscher Insignia CDTI 130

    MOD'S...Irmscher front spoiler, Irmscher mats, Irmscher door pins, Irmscher rear spoiler, Irmscher grille, Irmscher skirt & exhausts,Irmscher Roof spoiler MOD'S TO COME..Side skirts,Wheels

  7. #7
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, known as the dead tab or broken tab
    Affects any Windows computer running IE8

    I also had this on my brothers computer
    I traced this to an add-on conflict
    I suggest you disable all add-ons and then work through them to figure out which is causing the conflict

    I hacked the version I use on my laptop and removed the Search providers, that resolved the issue completely
    However the same setup did not work on my main computer

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigmac View Post
    Download this http://webtrickz.com/wp-content/uplo...ix_IE8Win7.reg


    Download this registry file and run it. Click ‘Yes’ when dialog box appears to add it to Windows registry. Hope it works!
    Thanks mate. Tried it but unfortunately no avail.

    Firefox it is then! LOL

    (Will have to do until IE9 is released. Tried the IE9 Release Candidate and that was rubbish and didnt help either).

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by m8internet View Post
    Yes, known as the dead tab or broken tab
    Affects any Windows computer running IE8

    I also had this on my brothers computer
    I traced this to an add-on conflict
    I suggest you disable all add-ons and then work through them to figure out which is causing the conflict

    I hacked the version I use on my laptop and removed the Search providers, that resolved the issue completely
    However the same setup did not work on my main computer
    Thats just it, the PC is new and not added anything yet. Worked fine until the other day. Only updates done are those added through the usual Windows updates. Should I check through those as well in case something there is causing the issue?

  10. #10
    Regular Member nikroc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    DERBY
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    can you not 'roll back' ur install to before it wents 'wrong'?..ie system restore..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Laptop Issue - MEGA HIGH CPU usage when normal Internet Browsing
    By Vaux-Man-G in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 23rd December 2012, 19:55
  2. Internet Explorer 6
    By leeds vectra in forum General Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 27th February 2009, 22:30
  3. Spell checker add-on for Internet Explorer
    By merikiito in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 15th February 2009, 17:28
  4. Internet Explorer HELP!!!!
    By sonic in forum General Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd August 2007, 07:53
  5. Internet Explorer version 7
    By AJA in forum General Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 14th December 2006, 00:52

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •