User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cruise control?

  1. #1
    Regular Member Ben Chiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Redditch, West Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Cruise control?

    I've got a preface lift vectra c. It's got the symbols on the left indicator stalk which i'm assuming is for the cruise control, so i'm assuming it's all set up to work. . . But i don't know how to operate it

    So could somebody please let me know how to work it? Just a quick how to engage it, how to disengage it, how to increase decrease the speed etc would be awesome.

    Thanks, Ben

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    mumbles
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    hi ben
    the top button will turn it on and a green speedo symbol will appear in the bottom right of the dash
    while it is on if you touch the brake it will turn off or you can manually turn it off by pressing the long flat button at the rear on the stalk.
    you can increase or decrease your speed by pressing the buttons while it is on. also if your on the motorway with it on and you want to overtake you can accelerate as normal past the slower car and when you pull back in the speed will decrease slowly back the speed you were already travelling at without you touching anything
    find yourself a quiet bit of road and have a play
    hope this helps

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Normanton, Debryshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I dont know if this will help but ive just had a quick go of mine seeing as i only got it Monday and i think u have to put your brake on first then press the button to get the logo to appear on the dash am i right thinking this?

  4. #4
    Regular Member azz man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    manchster
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No pal, pressing the brake will deactivate it.

  5. #5
    Regular Member bigdave1701's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    York
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Mine can be a bit clunky at times. For example it can take 4 or 5 presses to get it to engage so perhaps if yours needs a twiddle to get going, it could have the same problem (which Im assuming is dirty contacts).

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you drive off without touching the brake pedal, you cannot activate the cruise, pressing the brake pedal activates the system. Once activated pressing the brake or clutch pedal disengages the cruise control. HTH

  7. #7
    Regular Member rich r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Selby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You have to have pressed the brake at least once after moving off before the cruise control can be used as a safety function. Otherwise it's conceivably possible for a child or animal to activate it when the car is parked. You can't set it below 20mph either as if you're doing 20mph or less you're probably in a town and really shouldn't have the car moving along on it's own as there's likely to be pedestrians and stationary traffic. Incidentally you can't set it over 130mph either, but I don't think that's very likely anyway!

    Dirty switch contacts are the most common reason for it not working properly - there's several threads on this site describing how to remove the stalk and clean up the switches.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Cruise Control
    By tony100la in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th March 2010, 19:43
  2. cruise control
    By stuart bigboy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th May 2008, 21:14
  3. Cruise Control
    By Vaux-Man-G in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12th May 2008, 17:36
  4. manual control or cruise control.
    By johnm in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 6th February 2008, 14:20
  5. Cruise Control not there?
    By Robsey in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 1st February 2007, 18:23

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •