User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What happens to the Screen?

  1. #1
    Regular Member Tim2100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Walsall
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default What happens to the Screen?

    I've currently got in the car a CD70 Navigation head unit, this has the colour screen with it.

    If I take the head unit out and replace it with a 'normal' stereo what will happen to the screen, will I still get the trip computer / mpg/ timers etc. on the screen?

    Not fused about the sat nav as I have a pocket PC with TomTom 5 installed which i was using until I got my C. TomTom navi software is far superier to the VX Navi.

    I quite fancy a normal head unit so it will be louder and I can put a sub on.

    Tim.

  2. #2
    Regular Member gizmo10119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi tim, cant answer your question but if you get where you want to be i would like to buy your colour screen!!!

  3. #3
    Regular Member Tim2100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Walsall
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi Gizmo.

    I still want the screen in there, but I just want it to display the trip computer etc., as when I sell the car the navi will go back into it.

    Sorry

    Tim.

  4. #4
    Regular Member gizmo10119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Tim, no worries worth a try! lol

    i presume it will still display the time date and temp etc, the colour screen gets the same info as the normal one, as in the old vectra b, i put an after market stereo in and it didnt affect it, im sure someone will come along ang put me right if im wrong!!

  5. #5
    Vectra-C Obsessed Poster Drinky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    on your momma !!!!!!!!!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    hi tim not absolutely sure on this but will give it a go . am i right in thinking your veccy has the new stereo setup in it ? if so does your trip computer work from your steering wheel ? you will probably find by removing the factory unit you will lose all the computer functions !!!!!! also i think the wiring is different at the back !! dont think they use the iso connectors on the new units .. hope im wrong but keep us all posted on how you get on m8 !!! HTH

    Back in a V6 !!!!!!!!!!!! And lovin it !!!

  6. #6
    Regular Member Tim2100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Walsall
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks drinky.

    Yes it is the new stereo setup system, the CD70.

    Most things can be controlled from the steering wheel buttons & rocker switches.

    Not definatly changing the stereo yet as I want to find out what will happen to the screen as I want to keep the trip computers as I use them quite a lot especially the MPG thingy.

  7. #7
    Regular Member AdeyCorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Chesterfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I am wanting to do the same. But I want to remove the colour screen completely & sell the CD70 Navi & colour screen. So can I remove the screen as well or not?

    Ade

  8. #8
    Full Member gibbon7000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    lincs
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AdeyCorp View Post
    I am wanting to do the same. But I want to remove the colour screen completely & sell the CD70 Navi & colour screen. So can I remove the screen as well or not?

    Ade
    As far as i'm aware both headunit and screen can come out together without the need of any tech 2, and as long as they both go in the same car they will work fine hth

    So what will you be replacing your screen with???
    Last edited by Big-Pete; 8th April 2009 at 12:51.

    My other car. 1972 1641cc slammed beetle. On the road finally!!

  9. #9
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    95 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    He's not changing the screen, He's asking what will the screen display if he were to take out the just CD70, Would the screen still display any info such as date time, temp, BC etc..
    The existing screen and new Headunit would be seperate items so to speak..

  10. #10
    Regular Member Flaninacupboard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Don't think the screen will function at all without the HU, as it's an RGB video feed from the HU with some overlaid info from the canbus (if you have ECC for instance). it's easy to check, just take the HU out and see what happends, 30 second job if you have the keys.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale: CID Screen. (Colour Screen)
    By jodiexii in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 6th May 2013, 19:22
  2. Half screen to full screen,
    By SlowCoach in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th May 2012, 01:13
  3. GID Screen
    By cossie in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th March 2012, 23:24
  4. new screen now screen wiper problem
    By kenno31 in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th February 2012, 12:34

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •