User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: spanner light on..... great

  1. #1
    Regular Member damers2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pontefract
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default spanner light on..... great

    I serviced my car at the weekend which consisted of an oil change, check of the pads, oiled the hinges and that was it then today I get the dreaded spanner light over the car. Surely this is just coincidence as I didn't touch anything other than the sump plug, oil filter and engine oil cap.

    It came on first thing then went off after about 10 miles. Then, left work at 5 light was on again for about 2 miles then went off.

    I used to have a diagnostic programme on my other laptop which ran XP but the damn thing gave up the ghost a week ago so bought a new laptop with windows 7 on. Problem is, the diagnostics programme doesn;t run on Win 7!

    Tried the pedal test but nothing happened.........

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : 1.9 cdti

    Engine : 120

    Year : 06

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by damers2000 View Post
    I serviced my car at the weekend which consisted of an oil change, check of the pads, oiled the hinges and that was it then today I get the dreaded spanner light over the car. Surely this is just coincidence as I didn't touch anything other than the sump plug, oil filter and engine oil cap.

    It came on first thing then went off after about 10 miles. Then, left work at 5 light was on again for about 2 miles then went off.

    I used to have a diagnostic programme on my other laptop which ran XP but the damn thing gave up the ghost a week ago so bought a new laptop with windows 7 on. Problem is, the diagnostics programme doesn;t run on Win 7!

    Tried the pedal test but nothing happened.........
    Check glow plugs if the light shows only when you start the car from cold. Had this before.

  3. #3
    Regular Member M65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Bolton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Win 7 has an XP compatibilty mode built in depending on which version you use.

  4. #4
    Regular Member djr69uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 123rado View Post
    Check glow plugs if the light shows only when you start the car from cold. Had this before.
    Ditto!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    As said, Windows 7, some versions have XP mode. Right click on the program you want to run then if it has run in xp mode, try that.

  6. #6
    Regular Member rich r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Selby
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Only the most expensive versions of Windows 7 have the XP mode. Most people have the lower Home Premium version at home.

    However - if you use something like VirtualBox (which is free) you can install XP on a virtual machine running in a window, and use that. It'll connect most USB devices through to the virtual machine.

  7. #7
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    72 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    I would check EGR plug presuming you changed filter you may have disturbed it

    Irmscher Insignia CDTI 130

    MOD'S...Irmscher front spoiler, Irmscher mats, Irmscher door pins, Irmscher rear spoiler, Irmscher grille, Irmscher skirt & exhausts,Irmscher Roof spoiler MOD'S TO COME..Side skirts,Wheels

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rich r View Post
    Only the most expensive versions of Windows 7 have the XP mode. Most people have the lower Home Premium version at home.

    However - if you use something like VirtualBox (which is free) you can install XP on a virtual machine running in a window, and use that. It'll connect most USB devices through to the virtual machine.
    or VMWARE

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If it's only throwing the spanner during cold starts & going out once the temp has lifted a little, it will be glow plugs... it doesn't usually throw a code either.
    I have just replaced my glow plugs as part of a big service after having the same symptoms.
    Which part of west yorks are you, i'm in Bradford & have an MS509 code reader which is compatable.

  10. #10
    Regular Member damers2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pontefract
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    cheers for all the comments, the MD was out today so managed to stick a copy of opcom on one of the old laptops here and got a code, you won't be surprised to know what it is

    P0380 - Glow device general error

    I assume that means a glow plug has failed or is failing?

    I must admit, the starting of the car in a morning varies. SOme mornings it starts more or less straight away and other mornings it takes a few extra turns, would this explain a failed glow plug?

    Cheers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Loss of power, Engine Management Light, Spanner Light
    By Shadrack in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th April 2013, 11:22
  2. Problems with Air bag light, ABS, Anti Skid & Spanner light
    By WeDesign in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th December 2012, 21:23
  3. Should I Have A Spanner Light aswell as an Engine Light on My Signum?
    By StreetDragster in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 18th August 2012, 11:57
  4. Spanner Light and Engine Management Light
    By Paul_NI in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th August 2011, 13:42
  5. EGR Valve, Engine Management Light & Spanner Light
    By guygreen in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th December 2010, 20:09

Visitors found this page by searching for:

astra engine management light car with virtual spanner

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •