User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Spanner/oil can light

  1. #1
    Regular Member fuzzbomUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Spanner/oil can light

    Hi all, does the spanner over an oil can just mean needs an oil service?
    It looks almost the same as the oil can and spanner but without the 1000 underneath it.

    Oil is at the top of the notches on the dipstick so level is ok.

    on a 53 plate 1.8 sxi if that makes any difference.

    many thanks.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Think that one means that there's a fault code stored in the ECU?

  3. #3
    Regular Member sebadee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    macclesfield
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    if you press and hold milage reset button it will say how long till next service is due

  4. #4
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tony-1977 View Post
    Think that one means that there's a fault code stored in the ECU?
    No, thats the spanner over the car
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    No, thats the spanner over the car
    Oops I stand corrected

  6. #6
    Regular Member fuzzbomUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have a 3.2 so i am used to the usual servuice lights etc but never seen that one before.
    Picking the car up tonight as just bought it for my mum will check the sevice interval then.

    I also have an OP-COM so might plug it in and see if there is any codes if the service interval is ok.

    thanks again.

  7. #7
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fuzzbomUK View Post
    I have a 3.2 so i am used to the usual servuice lights etc but never seen that one before
    This only appears when you reach the service limit

    On EcoFlex you can make a small version appear with the miles to next service underneath
    Once you are under 500 miles the larger version appears every time you insert or remove the ignition key

  8. #8
    Regular Member jonnybravo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    barnsley,yorkshire,GB
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    as M8 says

  9. #9
    Regular Member fuzzbomUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yeah you guys are right. done manual reset and now no warning. many thanks.

    only bummer is the thermostat looks dodgy. temp needle hardly moved while driving. went up when stationary.
    checked on ebay £30 grr.. why the hell do you need to buy a housing as well as the stat on vectra's lol. my 3.2 was £50 when i had to replace that.

    Oh well. thanks again.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Loss of power, Engine Management Light, Spanner Light
    By Shadrack in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th April 2013, 11:22
  2. Problems with Air bag light, ABS, Anti Skid & Spanner light
    By WeDesign in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th December 2012, 21:23
  3. Should I Have A Spanner Light aswell as an Engine Light on My Signum?
    By StreetDragster in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 18th August 2012, 11:57
  4. EGR Valve, Engine Management Light & Spanner Light
    By guygreen in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th December 2010, 20:09
  5. spanner light then engine management light
    By learoy69 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12th March 2010, 20:10

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •