User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Fuel light and range driving me potty!

  1. #1
    Regular Member Saf_789's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    BRADFORD
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fuel light and range driving me potty!

    Hi guys,

    I havent had this veccy of mine for long and already the fuel light and range on the screen are playing mind games with me.

    I try and run it till the light comes back on before i put more diesel in as i can work out how many miles i get etc.

    Now, on some days, the fuel light will be flashing and right at the bottom (as though i have no fuel left) but the range will be showing 60miles+.

    Then on other days the range will show 0 and the fuel needle wont even be touching the reserve mark, no light on either.

    Some days i put £20 in and the range wont move but the needle does.

    Some days i put £20 in and the range moves but the needle doesnt.

    Its driving me mad as im always guessing which one is right, the needle or the range.

    Is this just how these veccy's are?

    Mine is a SRI CDTI 150 XP

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    How many miles you doing before checking the range values?

    IIRC, you need to do something like 15 or 20 miles before getting an accurate value.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Saf_789's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    BRADFORD
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well i work 12 miles away from home. If i put diesel in on the way to work then i would expect the needle AND range to catch up before i get there but sometimes they dont.
    Its an intermittent issue.

    Another example:
    Just before i came inside and wrote the first post above, i had 18 miles showing on the range and the fuel light was on, i dropped £10 in so i dont use much of the reserve and the needle went up as it should, the range went to 80 as it should but the light is still on!!
    even though the needle is above the reserve line.

    Its bl00dy annoying lol

  4. #4
    Regular Member Grumpy1954's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Newport (Shropshire)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Ford Kuga

    Trim : Titanium

    Engine : 2.0dtci

    Year : 2014

    Mileage : 1200

    Default

    12 miles is barely enough to fully warm a CDTi 150 engine. Personally I tend to believe the guage more than the trip computer/range, as the latter depends on your recent driving style. Sounds like you're not giving it a chance to get an accurate handddle on range, but I would have thought the light would go out on £10 worth - although that's not even 2 gallons these days

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    whitley bay
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    im sure the computer works it out on the previous tank, ie if you put 20 quid in and get 400 miles on the range comp then drive like a nutter you may only get 300 miles so next time you stick 20 quid in the range will say 300 etc iirc

  6. #6
    Regular Member LADmachining's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Putting odd amounts into the tank can confuse the display and cause the range to be displayed incorrectly.

    Best option is to fill the tank completely, reset the range calculation (assuming you have the standard 3 line display) by displaying the range on the screen, then pressing and holding the left hand scroll wheel until the display changes to ' - - - '.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fuel tank range
    By sriandy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11th September 2012, 00:39
  2. Grrr, indicators driving me potty
    By Andyjarvis in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 20th March 2012, 19:05
  3. Fuel range indicator
    By g1jkb in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th April 2010, 13:37
  4. Fuel Range
    By Avenged in forum General Chat
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 27th June 2009, 23:16
  5. Fuel computer range
    By fishphone in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th October 2008, 22:24

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •