User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Fitting an Xtrons head unit into my Vectra

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fitting an Xtrons head unit into my Vectra

    I have just bought an Xtrons head unit off ebay and trying to fit it to my Vectra C (03 plate). The radio's wiring harness plugs straight into the block of 3 on the car, covering the bottom two and leaving the top (which I believe is the steering controls) one uncovered.

    I then have 4 wires spare.
    Orange = brake
    pink = rear camera (I am led to believe)
    Brown = ignition live
    Blue = automatic antenna

    I have connected the Brown cable from my radio's harness to the Black cable on my cig lighter.
    I have connected the Orange cable from my radio's harness to the Brown on the cig lighter (previously connected it to the aerial - as was told this would allow DVD to work whilst driving).
    Other two wires are not connected.

    Turned key on car and power light came on and other lights on the radio flickered.
    I swapped the Red and Yellow wires around on the radio's harness and this solved the flickering - So now with the ignition on the power light on the radio comes on but the radio doesn't actually come on.

    Help needed please - Car is sat with all the front ripped up and wires draping out

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Regular Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C


    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2004

    Default

    and now its split to this thread

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenp View Post
    and now its split to this thread

    thanks matey

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quoting ....

    I am no expert on this by any means but i think if your car is half canbus then is should have an ignition live cable on the harness that goes to the head unit.

    The thing is just because the Wiring block went straight in, it doesnt mean it will work. You may need to get a lead or something from halfords to convert it to the correct wiring
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Thanks..

    I was under the impression that my cars block is an ISO which is the same as my radio's block

    That is more than likely the reason for my probles but where to start... possibly a wiring diagram of the cars block - what is where kind of thing

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Any body offer any more ideas....

    Or possibly a wiring diagram for the radio side of the car - so I can start to investigate there

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Right then - update.

    I don't need the switched live from cig lighter.
    I do need a fuse.
    After checking a fitter told me a fuse has blown because he got it working by connecting live and switched live together (temp) but I have checked every fuse (not relays though) with multimeter and all fuses are ok

    Question - do I need another fuse adding?
    If so where and how big?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sorted - ill post results tomorrow

  8. #8
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Eh?.............LOL

  9. #9
    Regular Member benholden2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    middlesbrough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    did you get it to work? if so hows the unit? any pics?

    got mine coming tomorrow, hope i dont have any problems fitting

    mines full canbus so already wired in a ignition live in on the weekend andit works with my girlfriends sony headunit, so it should work with the xtrons right?

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'll get some photos to follow but for now.....

    I won't bore you with the troubles I had but here is what I've got working at the moment.

    I have the wire harness from the radio plugged straight into the cars end. This leaves four wires remaining. I attached the orange (ground) wire to the black (earth/ground)on the harness to give it a perment grounding so DVD can be watched while driving. I attached the brown (ignition switched live) wire to the black (ignition switched live) wire on the cig lighter. Pink and blue are not needed.

    Tricky bit so read carefully.

    On the harness cut the yellow and red wires (middle so you have room to join)

    Yellow wire on harness from car end cut and join to red on radio end.

    DO NOT CONNECT THE RED CAR END TO YELLOW RADIO END.

    Originally I swapped red and yellow but the radio wouldn't switch on - but had power. So after removing switch ignition live from the harness all is good.

    Car is still in pieces but radio works. I'll try and get some pics when I've rebuilt it

    Oh another thing. I bought a fascia off eBay and adapted my old cage - struggling to get it in but I will do.
    Once all in there is going to be a small gap - not going to be a perfect fit. Just letting people know.
    Xtrons 712g I think my radio is.

    Hope this helps someone.

    :-)

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help with fitting an aftermarket head unit.
    By alembicbassman in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th August 2010, 19:29
  2. Help - Fitting a Double din Head Unit
    By Q22ube in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd July 2010, 13:32
  3. Fitting a new head unit
    By L333MCW in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd May 2009, 19:56
  4. Help Fitting New Head Unit
    By robdd1 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st September 2008, 17:03

Visitors found this page by searching for:

xtrons vectra c

xtrons fitting instructions

vectra c xtrons

xtrons wiring diagram

xtrons opel vectra c

where is the fuse on a xtron radio

how to wire xtrons new stereo in vectra

vectra c double din facia kit fitting instructions

which wiring harness for vectra 2006 stereo

xtrons 2 din stereo fitting instruction

vectra c audio wiring diagram

signum radio wiring

xtron cage fitting instructions

vauxhall vectra wiring diagram radio site:www.vectra-c.com

xtrons internal fuse

xtrons wiring diagram can bus vectra

how to fit a xtrons to a vectra

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •