User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Anyone extended tuning box into cabin?

  1. #1
    Regular Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Anyone extended tuning box into cabin?

    Right i am thinking about getting another tuning box as i really cant wait to save to get a remap lol, plus its resaleable IF cash is needed!!

    anyway, i was wondering if it was possible to extend the lead into the box so that it could be located in the cabin, so it could be adjusted whilst driving for power/economy?

    I am tempted to buy a cheap box to try it, and if its possible then do it with a dtuk box

    Could run the cable through the unused (well used by my amp) gromit next to pollen filter, then locate the box under steering wheel or around footwell sumwhere?

    good idea? bad idea?

  2. #2
    Full Member chrisvectra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Are you VXR Enough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : VXR8 6.0 muscle SRI ESTATE XP1

    Trim : VXR/ SRI ESTATE CDTI XP1

    Engine : 6.0 V8 Thunder

    Year : 2008

    Default

    sounds good to me fella let me know how you get on as id like to try this
    VXR IS FOR LIFE NOT JUST FOR THRILLS !



  3. #3
    Regular Member Ziggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Saab

    Trim : 9-3 Vert

    Engine : 2.0

    Year : 2000

    Default

    There is a company that make a remote control one, but cant think who

  4. #4
    Regular Member nutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Central England
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall

    Trim : very

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : Nosey

    Default

    People have tried this before and broken their boxes. If you have a jumper based setup, you are breaking and making circuits that are not designed for said. The ones with potentiometers might be okay, Ithink Tunits are said.

    I believe it was Dragon.
    Last edited by nutron; 18th February 2011 at 11:01.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Barnsley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    sounds good would be good in glove box

  6. #6
    Full Member Aikon58's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Englandshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : shatch- sports hatch

    Trim : cheap plastics

    Engine : metal

    Year : 1901

    Mileage : 999

    Default

    I can't see any real benefits myself Paul,unless you have a dial adjuster on your tuning box,i have jumper pins on mine,so i wouldn't find it any easier myself.

  7. #7
    Regular Member hairy31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    bradford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    as stated most if not all use jumpers and require ignition off to adjust

  8. #8
    Regular Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well even with the jumper set up, it is adjustable before a journey from inside the cab, rather than opening bonnet and dismantling before you can adjust the level of power increase

    plus the box could be dressed And left partially open to make it easy to adjust

  9. #9
    Full Member GazVXLINE170's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : SRI VX-Line Nav

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI [170 PS]

    Year : 2015

    Mileage : 27000

    Default

    I wouldn't removing and replacing jumper when there are signals going through them. As said better off with the ones with potentiometers, and even there usually the engine needs to be switched off before running with new box settings.

    Gazza4
    Insignia VX-Line Nav CDTI 170.

  10. #10
    Regular Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Looks like I'll be one of the first to give it a go, if anyone is selling a cheap box for the tester, let me know

    Don't fanncy chopping up a brand new dtuk box lol

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Cabin Filter
    By steve533 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th March 2011, 11:26
  2. Smell in Cabin....
    By unreal_event_horizon in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st February 2011, 00:57
  3. cabin fan problems
    By hughesdog69 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th December 2007, 23:54
  4. Fumes in the Cabin
    By bennyk in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th December 2007, 13:54
  5. cabin noise
    By scott_150cdtisri in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th February 2007, 00:55

Visitors found this page by searching for:

z19dth dtuk site:www.vectra-c.com

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •