User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Self Remap?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Telford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Self Remap?

    Hi All

    I'm looking for the equipment to enable me to map my Vectra 1.9 Cdti 2007 myself. I also have a couple of friends with the same cars so it would be great if I could help them out too.

    I've looked in to the KWP2000 interfaces and it looks like it can't be done?

    Does anyone know which interface/tool I would need to enable me to remap my car?

    Many thanks in advance.

    Paul

  2. #2
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 110000

    Default

    Thats an expensive fix when it goes wrong. You might as well get a Tuning Box, thats just plug and play.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Telford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Fair point. However, it would be useful to be able to flash the ecu for other cars I may own in the future. Plus friends cars too.

    Why would it go wrong?

    There are many companies that offer a remap service and they seem to do it without any trouble. Why can they do it without it going wrong?

  4. #4
    Regular Member zafira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North of Norway
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    2007 vectra has the EDC 16 C39 ECU, and its not so many OBD tuning tools that can read/write to this ecu. There are a few more tools that can read/write direct on BDM port at your ecu (you must open your ecu).

    On my 2007 cdti I borrow from a friend his Byteshooter. Byteshooter dont have vectra ECD 16 C39 in the menu of drivers, but astra is. So I use te astra driver and got the file tuned by a tuner in Belgia.

    So byteshooter is one of very few tools that can tune your car via OBD. And this use to cost around 1500GBP for a used one.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Telford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zafira View Post
    2007 vectra has the EDC 16 C39 ECU, and its not so many OBD tuning tools that can read/write to this ecu. There are a few more tools that can read/write direct on BDM port at your ecu (you must open your ecu).

    On my 2007 cdti I borrow from a friend his Byteshooter. Byteshooter dont have vectra ECD 16 C39 in the menu of drivers, but astra is. So I use te astra driver and got the file tuned by a tuner in Belgia.

    So byteshooter is one of very few tools that can tune your car via OBD. And this use to cost around 1500GBP for a used one.

    Thanks very much for the useful info. I've been doing a little searching this morning and found this - What do you reckon or is a load of t@rd?

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SMPS-MPPS-v-3-...item230e439237
    Last edited by cosmicp; 14th February 2011 at 13:29. Reason: link

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Telford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats






  7. #7
    Regular Member zafira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North of Norway
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cosmicp View Post
    Thanks very much for the useful info. I've been doing a little searching this morning and found this - What do you reckon or is a load of t@rd?

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SMPS-MPPS-v-3-...item230e439237
    Looks like this only can read/write EDC 16 C39. I am pretty sure you have EDC 16 C 39 (2006 - )

  8. #8
    Regular Member zafira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North of Norway
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cosmicp View Post
    I think this is a copy of CMD`s tool. I have heard this can kill your BDM port because +/- on the port its not the same as your BDM.

  9. #9
    Regular Member hoochydady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    hi i dont know if the chip is surf mount or what in the ecu you would need eprom programer/ and a elmulator program you could get the chip type and number etc and see if you can get the same or the likes from rs components or pos maplin pull the chip read it with the programer/emulator save the files as it will be in binary/hex files put a eprom back in and flash it with a remaped base file or 1 thats been done then see if the likes of the kw will re flash the eprom when you have it up and running the reson it prob cant be done insitu is its prob only a rom chip hence why they open the ecu on some and replace it with a eprom/flashed eprom

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 27th September 2013, 00:22
  2. 2.0t remap from remap science bradford
    By stefan7153 in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th May 2011, 22:03
  3. 2.2 dti remap
    By fattony in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th December 2008, 10:41
  4. 2.2 Remap
    By jaxouk in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th September 2008, 17:48

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •