User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: AirBag ECU VIN Number???

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    wigan
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Question AirBag ECU VIN Number???

    I have diagnosed my car Vectra 2.0 DTI LS. And I have found a fault on the airbag ecu. It says code B1000 wich means faulty ecu. My only question is should the airbag ECU store the cars vin number on it? Im only asking because all the other ECU's in the car show the vin when loaded up. Im just wondering if it should have and it hasnt been programmed in properly?

    Any help would be really appreciated!

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The VIN may not be in the airbag ECU as the airbag system seems to be separated to some extent from the other systems, probably for safety reasons. The airbags and seatbelt pre-tensioners will not work in a crash while the airbag warning light is on.

    The 'proper' fix is a new airbag ECU and programming from a dealer at a cost of around £400 to £500. Other possibilities are getting your ECU repaired or getting an ECU elsewhere and getting it erased (if it isn't already) and then getting it programmed to your car.

    Search for B1000 on here - there's quite a few posts about this fault and the various methods people have resolved it. Also try Googling 'airbag ECU repair' and for airbag ECU suppliers (the partcode you need is on the top of the ECU itself, probably 13142540 but you need to confirm this).
    Last edited by James24; 8th February 2011 at 14:33.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    wigan
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ok thanks for the info! I have phoned these repair played and they say it's a common fault for a chip to blow inside the unit. He said to buy another send them both to him and he will swap the info from my old one to the new. Oh and the airbag light isn't coming on! I just hope it's not been blanked off like the led display!

    Thanks James!

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The airbag light is a separate light - one of the ones that run along the bottom of the instrument display. It comes on for around 3 seconds when you turn the ignition on (position 2) then goes off after 3 seconds if all is well.

    If you have a current B1000 fault then the airbag light should be permanently on, so it may have been knobbled as well. If you hadn't found this fault, you could have been driving round for possibly years without any airbags or seatbelt pretensioners!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    wigan
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah your probably right! I know where abouts you mean I can see the outline
    On the dash but no it doesn't light up on ignition position 2. So I'm guessing it's been tampered with. I have only had the car just under 2 months! Just trying to get it up to scratch and as reliable as I can do. Just want to get the airbags sorted as I'm more concerned about my 2 year old son not being safe without the airbags.

    I think another strip down of the dash is due!

    Cheers m8!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    DERBY
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I sent my ecu to a repair place and they said the same thing that they could swap my chip to another ecu , when I got it back it didnt work , so I wouldnt recomend you to go down that path , you need to find somebody who will repair the actual fault www.crashdata.co.uk said they would be able to repair the fault in mine fo £65 , and if they couldnt repair it there would be no charge , again I am sceptical if this , I have the same fault , in theory if you get one of the same spec (same config of airbags ) it should just plug straight in , although you may have to clear any stored codes so you may have to get some form of code reader that will clear the codes , as long as you can find an ecu without crash data in you should be ok , theres a lot of airbag faults posted on here lately very strange

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    wigan
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have ordered a ecu off eBay for £22 he has said there is no crash data on it and it is the exact part no as the one I have. Hopefully just a swap? I have op-com not sure if this will let me set it to my car? I will keep you posted on how I get on. Probably a job for the weekend to see if it is plug and play. Probably not!

    Does anyone know how to strip the box section around the handbrake lever so I can access the airbag ecu?

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    wigan
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have received my new ecu today! And fitted it! took forever stripping down the centre console to gain access to the old unit. I have swapped it out diagnosed it came up with a few faults and they all cleared down using opcom. Now there are no faults present! I can check that all the airbags are present and what ohms they are at so I can see that they are there. My only concern is that the airbag light doesn't work on the dashboard. I have stripped it down and there wasn't anything else covering it up.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    DERBY
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    pleased you sorted it if no codes stored then all should be OK , with regards to the light you need to see if you have a feed when ignition is first turned on maybe the track has been cut so light doesn't illuminate ,as from your description it sounds like whoever sold you the car new there was a fault and made the lamp disappear

  10. #10
    Regular Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra and a Signum

    Trim : top of the line in both

    Engine : Z18XE,Z19DTH,Z20NET

    Year : 2006

    Default

    so you were able to do just a straight swap of ecu and all was fine? i thought that the ecu for these was up behind the glovebox, well thats where i saw an ecu the other day when i was in there mucking around..

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. AIRBAG light .. is thier a fuse the the Airbag ecu ?
    By Steven T Davies-Moss in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10th September 2011, 13:21
  2. where is airbag ecu
    By wbm156 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th March 2011, 20:56
  3. Airbag replacement - NSF (front passenger airbag)
    By Caveman_nige in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19th February 2011, 21:12
  4. Part number for GSi "Opel airbag cover"
    By Vectra_C_Chris in forum Bodywork & Interior
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th June 2010, 15:57
  5. airbag ecu
    By taxidriver50005 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 25th September 2009, 09:41

Visitors found this page by searching for:

airback storing vectra c b1000

vectra c airbag ecu

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •