User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: cd70 install

  1. #1
    Regular Member YT07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    south cumbria
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default cd70 install

    guys,i am looking to upgrade my cd30 to hopefuly a cd70 satnav and screen,my car is a 2007 model vec life so is this a straight swap over ie old screen and radio out and new ones in then bingo all up and running or have i not understood the posts i have read regarding this upgrade.i really only want the mpg/range/warning functions rather than the satnav but as it comes with it it will be a bonus i suppose (unless there is another radio model option with the functions but no satnav?).the next step would be to find a paired unit at a decent price,i would rather stick with oe gear as i am a bit anal regarding messing with non standard stuff.
    any help most appreciated.
    many thanks.

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You are well on the right track mate. As long as the CD70 and Screen you buy come as a married pair, it will install straight into your car.

    The only addition you will need is a GPS antenna with Fakra connector (about £6-8 off ebay)

    Dead easy to fit as well. There are a number of places you can install the GPS antenna.. personally, i have put the antenna where the centre speaker goes on the dashboad, under the plastic grill, then run the connector to the back of the CD70... has never failed to get a GPS fix for me.

    You are looking at around £400 for a complete setup off ebay.. But make sure its complete with the Screen, Vents, CD70, and RGB cable.

    Rgds
    Aidi

  3. #3
    Regular Member YT07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    south cumbria
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    many thanks aidi for the prompt and informative reply,much appreciated.
    paul.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    N-EAST
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Fitted mine yesterday, put gps were the front speaker would be, only thing i had to get Tech2 was the BC which took all of 1 min to do and it did not need the car pass to get it done.

    Wichet

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Ripon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Wichet,

    Getting the parts together to do mine, was it easy to change .... Any tips and how hard was it to remove the trim strip?

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    N-EAST
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Start by opening glove box and take trim from there first, work your way along carefully. Get a set of radio removal keys couple of quid makes the removal of the Head unit a doddle. Make sure the security grub screws are removed before putting in the removal keys. I placed my gps in the front Speaker and routed the wire to the CID you can see were the wire goes when you have removed the speaker cover for the gps as daylight shines through. Remove the Screen and vents first then remove the head unit, there is plenty of cable behind the Head unit to remove it easily.

    Hope this Helps

    Wichet

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Ripon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Wichet,

    Cheers for the info, hopefully should have all the parts in place by the start of next week. With regards the front speaker .... You say remove the cover?? Do you not push the receiver through from vent side? How does the cover come off??

    Sounds easy but gonna be fun!!

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    N-EAST
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    In the middle of the front vent on top of dash there is a little speaker cover which pops off when lifted, my GPS antenna is fitted in there with double sided pads. Get a signal all the time in there and no wire's showing.

    Wichet

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. CD70 install
    By Vectralicker in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th November 2011, 16:23
  2. Ice install !!
    By chiragh in forum ICE Gallery
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 7th March 2011, 07:57
  3. CD70 Navi ICE Install
    By maurauth in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 20th December 2010, 14:12
  4. My install!
    By smiley-sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th December 2009, 22:44
  5. Can you install a aux plug in a cd70 for 55 sri vectra
    By rollercoaster63 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th October 2009, 00:35

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •