User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Now having to remove the fuse!

  1. #1
    Regular Member sparky71a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    At the Garage
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Now having to remove the fuse!

    Well the Cdr30 fault has progressed nicely over the last few weeks.
    The wife came home Sat Night,and called me outside wanting to know why the car was holding a party with itself on the driveway ,the neighbours are an understanding lot Thank God!
    Turned it off went back in the house.
    Within the hour and just when she(the car) had thought i'd gone to bed she starts again.... In the end with torch in hand i had to remove the fuse
    Just to get a nights sleep
    Now having to have the fuse in and out if i want the radio whilst out and about,remembering to remove it before leaving the car.
    The stealers are collecting the car on Tuesday,will fit a new wiring harness,and the oxygen sensor recall to be done aswell.
    This is an age old story of over complicating things me thinks...
    Before computers were put inside cars,the radio stayed off when switched Off! Grrrr
    Right thats me got it out of my system now!!!!

  2. #2
    Regular Member Swatty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    greenock
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I suppose there are some benefits; at least you will know your security code off-by-heart (I’m hoping mine is in the place I think it is).

    Hope you get it sorted

  3. #3
    Regular Member sparky71a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    At the Garage
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well thats the thing i thought it might need the security code each time an all,
    but it doesn't!!
    Must be because the central computer hasn't been disconned from the bat?

  4. #4
    Regular Member DennisTheMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dorset
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The radio code is stored in the ECU and paired to that car , so no matter how many times you remove it , when you chuck it back in the radio and the car know each other and say hello over a nice cup of tea ....

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Have you tried doing the ignition on/off thing yet?

    The function to leave the radio on when you pull the key out etc, long shot but it could help.

  6. #6
    Regular Member S888 SRB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Hemel Hempstead, Herts
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Fit something else. I wish i had now.

  7. #7
    Regular Member sparky71a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    At the Garage
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yeah tried the Auto Ign thing,thought that may be the answer but makes no difference at all. I've just never got a clear answer off them as to why they need to replace the wiring harness?? Instead of just the radio. Knowing that would certainly put me in a position to help others when i hear of this fault again. It was the way they never argued about it either,they couldn't bend over backwards enough actually,which i wasn't sure how to react to,wether i should be chuffed at great service,or disconcerted that they maybe other evils afoot if the problem was allowed to persist, that they wern't letting onto me.
    My paranoia maybe,but because i'm on shifts their even collecting and dropping off my car to the house just so they can get it done. Seems top service i should be gratefull!!! LOL Anyway its a Kenwood double din after crimbo,just gota source one with a good connector for the steering controls,anybody know of anything out there? I want a double Din as filling the space properly just seems the right thing to do,theres plenty of single din with steering control adapters but i want DOUBLE DIN!! LOL

  8. #8
    Regular Member S888 SRB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Hemel Hempstead, Herts
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Gotta say i don't like most of the double din units, not seen one that looks good yet...

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    falkirk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    old thread but did you get a solution to this?? as my stereo is doing the exact same?

  10. #10
    Regular Member mushy2007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Liverpool
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    My old SRI did just this, it kept having a mini disco when it wanted.

    The last straw came when I left it at a friends house for two weeks whilst i borrowed his saab convertable and came back to complaints that the car was doing it since i left it and took a week to die!

    Called the dealers and they replaced the unit and the problem went, apparently its the cd tray thinks it gets a cd and switches on!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ignition live fuse in under bonnet fuse box
    By TimTay in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th August 2011, 15:19
  2. Remove fuse CD70
    By KeeronMac in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 6th May 2011, 19:19
  3. What does fuse 26 do in the engine compartment fuse box?
    By rich05uk in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th January 2011, 22:02
  4. fuse box ID
    By myelite150 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th December 2009, 13:17
  5. car kit fuse
    By daveg8843 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25th January 2007, 22:58

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •