User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Airbag ECU fault

  1. #1
    Regular Member Steven T Davies-Moss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused Airbag ECU fault

    my airbag light has just activated on the 07reg vec C. the diagnostic says it cant be re-set and its an ECU fault

    can i just change the ecu ?.. or is it coded to the car

  2. #2
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    try dissin the battery for half hour mate
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  3. #3
    Regular Member Steven T Davies-Moss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulvectrac View Post
    try dissin the battery for half hour mate
    ok.. will do. thanks

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    DERBY
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    do you know the fault code if its b1000 its the ecu , I have the same fault, currently trying to sort out , there are companies who say they can repair , I sent mine away but it came back with the same fault , so they hadnt repaired it , going to try a second hand one next , but will need one without crash data in as that will need clearing , let me know what your code is and I will keep you informed of what I do, dealers price is£470 + coding to the vehicle

  5. #5
    Regular Member Steven T Davies-Moss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sharper View Post
    do you know the fault code if its b1000 its the ecu , I have the same fault, currently trying to sort out , there are companies who say they can repair , I sent mine away but it came back with the same fault , so they hadnt repaired it , going to try a second hand one next , but will need one without crash data in as that will need clearing , let me know what your code is and I will keep you informed of what I do, dealers price is£470 + coding to the vehicle
    Ouch Ouch Ouch. im not sure of the code yet.. ill ask my mechanic

    i had this reply from one seller of the ecu's ...

    Hi, they are not chassis coded on the vectra, the only vauxhall that is, is the corsa D, only because the immobiliser runs through it, but as long as the 2 letters are the same as yours it will be fine, the letters indicate the configaration of the car, can't remember which is which but for instance, this DY one is for a car with roof airbags, and one with the letters KN will be for the one without, as i said i can't rememeber which is which, but as long as the letters you put in is the same as you take out you will be fine...

    goin to try it with the insurance co today as it activated 8 months ago when it rolled into a brick wall. they re-set it then

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    DERBY
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you need the code thats inside it to understand what the fault is , if its a fault code or crash data , crash data can be cleared if you send it away, b1000 can not ,you could get a 2nd hand one as long as its the same spec (same airbags as your car) and no crash data stored , ecu doesnt have the chassis number in it ,please keep us informed of how you resolve it , it helps people in the future if they have the same problem

  7. #7
    Regular Member Steven T Davies-Moss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sharper View Post
    you need the code thats inside it to understand what the fault is , if its a fault code or crash data , crash data can be cleared if you send it away, b1000 can not ,you could get a 2nd hand one as long as its the same spec (same airbags as your car) and no crash data stored , ecu doesnt have the chassis number in it ,please keep us informed of how you resolve it , it helps people in the future if they have the same problem
    SWill do. iv found out its just coded KN.. there are 7 different codes on the vec C airbag ECUs and they can be swapped. the important thing is to get another working unit that is the same code as on the top sticker

    A company called http://www.northernautotech.co.uk/airbag.html will take the info out my old unit and transfer it to a second hand replacement unit for £45

    the fault in my unit is non wipable.. vectra's are prone to the airbag ECU fault and manytimes its due to bad wiring in the car

    as you say.. they are not chassis coded to the car so thats not a worry. but internal data needs to be transfered to ensure all airbags will activate as needed when needed

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    DERBY
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I used this company and they told me they could do this on mine I received mine back plugged it in and the light is still on with the same code in it , cost me £40 +£40 for a second hand one my recomendation to you is either get one from a breakers with no crash data or send it to somewhere that will actualy repair the fault on yours, I got quoted £65 for a repair, and no charge if they couldnt repair it , but again I am very sceptical that this will work also , or the last option get a brand new ecu ,please pm me and I can give you more info , if you get a second hand one make sure its from the same spec of vehicle and same number of airbags and this should work

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    DERBY
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I will check my e mails for you to see who quoted me for repair
    Last edited by sharper; 2nd February 2011 at 23:24.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    DERBY
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I ve just checked my e mails the company that quoted my £65 was crashdata.co.uk, they say if they can not repair there will be no charge , maybe you could ask for a guarantee of this , or use pay pal then you will have some protection , I wish I would have tried this first

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. airbag fault
    By veccyv6 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28th August 2012, 16:35
  2. what would cause all these airbag fault codes?
    By krazylegz in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 25th April 2012, 18:36
  3. Airbag ECU fault codes ??????? ?
    By Steven T Davies-Moss in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12th September 2011, 20:39
  4. Can someone please help. AIRBAG FAULT
    By Bigg943 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th July 2011, 22:32
  5. B1000 airbag fault - what would you do?
    By James24 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 24th January 2011, 12:51

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •