User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: might have to change the fuel pump.. ok to use the old cambelt?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    worcs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default might have to change the fuel pump.. ok to use the old cambelt?

    Hi all,
    i ve got a leak from my fuel pump on the back of the engine, the pump is driven by the cambelt.

    i took it to the dealer and they said they might have to take the pump off if they cant locate the leak.

    will it be ok to reuse the same cambelt or should i ask them to fit a new one?

    car is on 54000 miles now.

    cdti 150 engine.

    apparently a new pump costs in the region of 1600 p[ounds fitted? would this include the price of a new cambelt anyway or not?

    only had the car 2 weeks and its turning into a money pit!!....... just as well its under warranty

    cheers

    steve

  2. #2
    Regular Member Rebellion8878's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Bucks
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cambelt kit is usually around 200, has it been done yet as to be honest around 60k I would have that and the waterpump done. I had an oil leak on the camshaft I think it was at 25k and they strongly advised me to change it than use the old one. Plus not sure how true this is and where everything is located if anything like oil or something leaking was to go on the belt and cause it to slip... wouldnt be too good.

  3. #3
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Never ever refit a cambelt. VX dealer did it on a Vectra B 2.0 I had once and it ended up costing them £3500 to put a never engine in 3 weeks later!

    Although VX say change the cambelt at 100k I would and have changed the cambelt at 60k. Its not always the cambelt that would break but the tensioners as happened to my current Vectra 1.9CDTi under warranty on 59k, another £4000 cost to VX
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  4. #4
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No, change it. Not worth the risk. Maybe if it had only done a few hundred but not 54k.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    worcs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ok then do you think i should be paying for the camblet parts because i wouldnt be in this situation if the fuel pump wasnt leaking .

    the fuel pump is being repalced under warranty.

    should the dealer i got the car from stump up for the cambelt kit?

  6. #6
    Regular Member Grumpy1954's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Newport (Shropshire)
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well, it's your choice whether to replace the belt, so probably not - but, like the others, if it was coming off anyway, I'd change it.

  7. #7
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If the dealer has to take off the Cambelt then they have to fit a new one. VX dealer should know that and not try and make you pay for it.

    Ask them is it common practice to not replace the belt if its removed. If they reply yes then take the car to another dealer.

    Madness not to fit a new belt and like I say if the dealer takes it off dealer pays for a new kit
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  8. #8
    Regular Member Rapala's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Clackmannanshire Central Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showthread.php?t=121315

    The belt does not have to be taken off to remove the fuel pump nor does the cam timing etc. need to be disturbed. Have a look at the how to above and all will become clear.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    worcs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    its a tricky situation though as i got the car from a car supermarket in derby, im now down in abingdon with the RAF as my job and the local vx dealers are doing the work and the car cupermarket are paying for it over the phone.

    the techy who came out to look over the car seemed to think that as the car has only done 54 thou the camblet should be ok?

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    worcs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks for pointing that out to me mate, hopefully vauxhall will be aware of that so they dont have to take the belt off!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Y30DT Cambelt / Water pump change
    By dshelton999 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 23rd February 2013, 23:13
  2. Cambelt and water pump change
    By winnie2457 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 1st August 2011, 14:39
  3. Cambelt kit & water pump change
    By Pete1nlancs in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 30th July 2010, 19:07
  4. Fuel pressure sensor/fuel pump failure list following Watchdog investigation.
    By happychappy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 14th January 2009, 13:18

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •