User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Windows XP... HELP !!!!

  1. #1
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Windows XP... HELP !!!!

    I need some inspiration here guys ..

    I have a cousins laptop here, she is a student and put it up to me to try and sort as it had stopped working, well was on a serious go slow and error massages popping up all over the shop,

    So far,

    It is an acer 1350, the disc is split in 2 c&d, c was full and D empty, so I have moved all her files onto D and freed up the C drive, which helped straight away.

    The drivers for the video and modem had gone, so I have reinstalled them, got them from the acer site.

    Cleared the temp folder and defragged to tidy it up a bit, running very fast now, BUT

    I keep getting a windows Update error, windows update has had to close down, do you want to send an error report. Cannot get rid of it.

    The Laptop is running SP1, I have tried to put in SP2 but it is having none of it, also tried the security updat disk but it won`t go in either (my theory was this has a new version of windows update and might fix the prob). AOL is installed on it but when I connect to the net I get system32 errors, which is the same as I get if I try to install SP2.

    I have switched off windows updates but still get this error, pops up every 2-3 seconds, a real pain in the ar$e, goes away if I go into taskmamnager and end the windowsupdate though !!

    Been working with it since 7.30 this morning and getting very p`d off to say the least.

    Any Ideas, anyone know where the reg key is, if I delete it will it solve it., She doesn`t use the laptop for the internet as her student flat has no phone, though it was used for the internet last summer so A virus isn`t out of the question ?

    Sorry for the big post, but PLEASE HELP ME BEFORE I GO INSANE !!!!

  2. #2
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If there aren't any files on C anymore that she needs (assume they are now on D?), would a format of C and clean install of XP be better, and quicker?

    D

  3. #3
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm no expert m8, but if it was mine, I would be very tempted now you have it running as such, to back up everything I need on it, and then wipe it and start again with a fresh windows install.

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    probably would be, dunno if she still has the disk i`ll have to ask her, there is nothing really installed on it so it would be an easy job right enough, I don`t like reinstalling, but thats cos I have so much ****, an ancient version of windows and a homemeade PC so heaps of driver disks ..

  5. #5
    Regular Member SignumPhil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Is there an error code, 0x8 something? Any clues in the event log?

    Phil

  6. #6
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    C:/docum~1\claire\locals~1\temp\wer2.tmp.dir00\wuaucl t.exe.mdmp
    C:/docum~1\claire\locals~1\temp\wer2.tmp.dir00\appcom pat.txt

    Which I am assuming is something to do with an unsuccessful Minidump ?

  7. #7
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Right click My Computer - Manage - Event Viewer - check for any error in the three logs???

    Also is there a Firewall installed other than the windows version?

    If you have the XP disc run the repair option and see what this does.

    I'm on MSN if you need any help dude.

  8. #8
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    In the event log it gives the error, first the it starts winauclt , then it starts winaueng.dll92520clientdatastore, the database started a new instance, then I get the error and faulting application winauclt.exe fault address 0x00034fbd ??

    I have texted her to ask if she still has the disk. Can I run my XP disk as a repair, mine is proffesional , the laptop is home edition ??

  9. #9
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bainie
    Can I run my XP disk as a repair, mine is proffesional , the laptop is home edition ??
    I would guess you probably could mate. Only System files after all.

  10. #10
    Regular Member JuzzyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    In theory you'd need the Home disk to run the repair as there are more differences between Home and Pro than you'd think.

    I'd just get off any data she needs and reload it - in my experience once things like this happen its just easier to reload than chase your tail all the time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Its doing my nut in (windows)
    By scotty84 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 15th January 2011, 14:39
  2. Windows 7
    By steve1975l in forum General Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 17th June 2009, 16:33
  3. Windows Wipers and Windows Washers
    By kevrod79 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th February 2009, 09:58
  4. Do your windows go down on their own???
    By Pepsi Max in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 5th February 2009, 22:27
  5. dvd,windows,help.
    By wernham in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th May 2008, 23:23

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •