User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Power Supply for GPS ??

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Northants
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Power Supply for GPS ??

    Hi

    I just bought a GPS unit for my Vec C 2.0 DTI which I'm going to screen mount at the right hand side.

    I'm not happy with a cable draping from the satnav across and down to the cigarette lighter so I want to make a permanent power cable hookup.

    So question is, where exactly is the best place to pick up a switched 12v supply on that side of the car to give the shortest visible run of cable? Any tips on how to run it without taking the whole dash apart. Unswitched would be fine too if it's closer or easier.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    With the CANBUS system as it is, i'd still run a wire from the underneath terminals of the front power socket through the dash to the windscreen pillar...with the Vec C, gone are the days of tapping into the ignition or the lights to get a power feed..if you do it can end in tears..

  3. #3
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You can tap into one of the leads going into the back of the headlight switch - you'll find a permanent and an ignition 12V in there. That's what I used for my SatNav with no problems. Then for the earth you can attach to a convenient point.

    This thread should help for the headlight wiring bit, and this one for the same but also the earthing point.

    HTH

    D

  4. #4
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ahh.. the 'Cara's car in pieces' thread...

    i remember the look on her face well

  5. #5
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default


  6. #6
    Regular Member Chocki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sat nav uses little power so I just connected it to the glove compartment light.

    You can remove the facia strip which runs just above the glove compartment and radio controls and route any cables behind that, just dont cover the air bag.

    The advantage of using the glove compartment light as a feed is that the power is turned off to it about 20min after you lock the car.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Northants
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks all for your replys. Will get hacking & chopping at the weekend

  8. #8
    Regular Member Chocki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Your best bet is to remove the glove compartment complete, it's only 5 torx screws, then you can run cabling behind the dash easily. Also right in the middle of the dash where the vents are that blow on the windscreen, if you look closely, is a removeable cover which on some models has a speaker beneath it. There is also a hole where the cables go into the dash, with the glove compartment removed, you can get to the underside of this.

    Else run the cables round the outside of the dash, to the left and remove the fuse box covers on the end of the dash and thread the cable through that way.

    It will force between the trim of the pillar and the dash and be totaly invisible when done.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. help with power supply
    By vxr_and in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th December 2012, 12:21
  2. Is there a power supply in the door that I can tap into?
    By carperjake in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th July 2012, 07:49
  3. Checking MAF power Supply
    By Alank in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th July 2011, 21:35
  4. 12v power supply from boot?
    By Craig1985 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15th February 2011, 23:24
  5. Power supply
    By Robin in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th June 2006, 13:06

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •