User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Need some help on Home Audio system

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Norwich
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats


    Trim : SXi

    Engine : 2.2


    Default Need some help on Home Audio system

    I have a 5.1 home cinema system which works fine with the dvd player. Is there any way I can get the Sky and my media player to play through the system for surround sound instead of just the TV and HiFi system?

    I have tried various methods and the last popped one channel on the hifi

    Also has anyone used a soundbar with their TV? I have heard really good things about them

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    my sky is running via the optical output in dolby hd via my amp and media player is streaming via my xbox 360 on hdmi input on the amp so both are covered

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

  3. #3
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deztroyer View Post
    my sky is running via the optical output in dolby hd via my amp and media player is streaming via my xbox 360 on hdmi input on the amp so both are covered
    Same set up here except PS3. Soundbars are a step below 5.1 so you would be taking a backwards step.

    What inputs do you have on the back of the AV amp?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Norwich
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats


    Trim : SXi

    Engine : 2.2


    Default

    Ok thanks for both those answers but I,m lost lol

    I thought the sound bars were meant to be 5.1?

    The dvd player is quite an old one Medion MD4847. It runs the 5.1. It has the facility for radio and TV which I assume in TV mode the sound will come through the speakers? Its where I connect with the RCA leads thats confusing me. At the moment I have a triple scart lead plug with wii, media player and hifi plugged in so the sound can go through the stereo but this is just a mass of ever changing cables now.
    When I turn the dvd player on I lose the tv picture so again I assume I have to turn the tv into the dvd so I get a picture when in tv mode as well as sound?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Norwich
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats


    Trim : SXi

    Engine : 2.2


    Default

    Right....I have Toshiba TV Media player plugged into HDMI
    Sky + box has scart going into TV
    DVD player is connected to Sky box via scart. If I try to use the S-Video lead it will not recognise anything and I lose the signal
    DVD player plays the 5.1 fine

    At the moment to get the sound from Sky/Media Player/Wii I have 3 sets of RCA leads going into a scart plug 3 way to get the sound go through the Hifi.

    Object is to get everything go through the DVD player that has a built in amp and is 5.1. I also have a function to turn the sound to pro logic, 2.1 and 3 stereo

    If I put the DVD player on it uses the same channel as the TV so changing the setting on the DVD player loses the signal from the TV

    Radio works fine with the TV on

    Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm really stuck on this!

  6. #6
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Now i'm lost LOL. Propper 5.1 has a centre speaker, 2 speaker eather side of the TV, and 2 beine you, one eather side, the .1 is the sub. Soundbars have all the 5 speakers in front of you. The sound comes out of each speaker at slightly different times so if fools you into thinking the sound is coming from the side or behind.

    I used to have the same set up as you but it was Sony. the DVD player was connected to the AV amp via 6 RCA cables, one for each channel. there was no way to get extra inputs in there properly, as scart only does it in stereo/pro logic. Does your AV amp have an optical input? Its a small square port with a little rubber flap.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Norwich
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats


    Trim : SXi

    Engine : 2.2


    Default

    Yes I have an optical port on the Dvd player. I also have rear/centre/front speakers as you mentioned.

    On Dvd player I have co axial, Video input RCA, Aux/Tv Input RCA, Port for another external Subwoofer, optical port,

  8. #8
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Is the optical port input or output. If its input then that's all you need, shy has an optical output so you just need the input.

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    an awful lot of these Pseudo integrated surround systems dont have much in the way of inputs ...this is potentially what is limiting the options you have

    what model is the DVD surround system = when i get home i'll download the pdf for it and see what actual inputs you have to run other items

    ideally you could do with a separates amp with hdmi/optical and phono inputs this would resolve the issues and give you better sound



    regarding the sound bars - yamaha is the only real market player that have acheived real decent sound by bouncing the affects off of the walls but it does incorporate at least 11 speakers and is circa £1000

    for that money you could get a very nice separates system

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Norwich
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats


    Trim : SXi

    Engine : 2.2


    Default

    Its quite an old system now lol

    The model of the 5.1 package is Medion MD4847

    Failing this I may just get another system so I can everything through it. Never really been into all this before hence the stupid questions!

    Thanks

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Home sound system
    By stevie16v in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th May 2012, 21:55
  2. home audio speakers
    By paul.sessions in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th April 2011, 21:41
  3. What audio system,
    By jrh1 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th August 2009, 00:49
  4. SplitCharge system for audio
    By Whippy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 3rd March 2008, 21:23
  5. Pioneer DCS505 home cinema system
    By nickc in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th June 2007, 16:35

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •