User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Tech2, can I get it for the laptop?

  1. #1
    Regular Member stoneyloon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Stoney
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Tech2, can I get it for the laptop?

    ....or is it too risky?

  2. #2
    Regular Member DarylAAS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    South Shields
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You cant get tech 2 for a laptop as its a handheld machine and its hardware.. you can get vauxcom for a laptop... or the Opcom(which isnt allowed to be talked about on here)

  3. #3
    Regular Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra and a Signum

    Trim : top of the line in both

    Engine : Z18XE,Z19DTH,Z20NET

    Year : 2006

    Default

    you can get what is known as Tech2win which runs Tech2 in terminal window on your laptop, it is a genuine product and comes with certain later versions of TIS2000. However the cable needed to use with this is hard to find and very expensive.

    Best to stick with one of the apps mentioned above..

  4. #4
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    271 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    Stil need the MDI interface for that though Nige
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

  5. #5
    Regular Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra and a Signum

    Trim : top of the line in both

    Engine : Z18XE,Z19DTH,Z20NET

    Year : 2006

    Default

    thats the thing that makes it too hard to try and get working and why i gave up with it..

  6. #6
    Regular Member andy.l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wirral / ellesmere port
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia tourer

    Trim : elite

    Engine : 2.0 cdti 160

    Year : 2011

    Default

    the mdi interface is only used for the later cars ie- insignia,astra j new
    meriva etc. and is a live link direct to opel which no household can access
    this but only a dealer.

    lot of ppl get confused as to where mdi can be used.




  7. #7
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    95 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarylAAS View Post
    you can get vauxcom for a laptop... or the Opcom(which isnt allowed to be talked about on here)
    Not quite true, If you have a genuine copy that you purchased from the manufacturors then you can talk about it as much as you like.. It's purely pirated / copied software thats frowned upon..

  8. #8
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    271 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    mdi can be used with globaltis not exclusively tis2web and can emulate tech2 via tech2win without any online need, and if the OP just wants to read engine codes then some type of 'ELM' style interface will suffice
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Askim, Norway
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    http://www.dealextreme.com/photogallery.dx/sku.48445

    http://www.dealextreme.com/photogallery.dx/sku.42825

    Im thinking about ordering one of these, so I can read of codes and erase them.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. new laptop help
    By montyfert in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th February 2012, 20:44
  2. Using the laptop thru the TV
    By KeefyB in forum General Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 30th August 2010, 12:51
  3. Laptop
    By glenboy in forum How much is it worth? (THIS SECTION IS NOW CLOSED)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 1st August 2008, 11:53
  4. PC, well Laptop help please.
    By Green Growler in forum General Chat
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 4th June 2008, 19:42
  5. Laptop
    By scoobs in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th March 2008, 13:31

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •