User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: HELP PLEASE!!! Which Double Din in Signum so top screen will still work?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    York
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default HELP PLEASE!!! Which Double Din in Signum so top screen will still work?

    Hey all....

    I am trying to find a Double Din Stereo hopefully in the sub £300 mark that will work with the car and still allow the top screen to work.

    Am not bothered about the satnav on the top screen as it's crap anyway and always use my tomtom but really want to keep the fuel consumption info. (I'd even be happy if that was permanently on).

    I was looking at the pioneer P3100DVD which is about £250 but will the top screen work with it?

    Any help would be great....

    Thanks

    Oh I have a 56 plate Signum Elegance

  2. #2
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    fuel consumption info works even with the exisiting stereo off ... so you will retain that with any head unit ... the only problem you will have is wheel controls and then change of date/time

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

  3. #3
    Regular Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    your screen should be fine working, but as deztroyer said, unless you system has a canbus control screen, you will only be able to control screen with steering controls

    i have an aftermarket double din, screen works fine

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think most who ask this question are after having the radio/CD/MP3 info still available via the built in screen.

    The only one i have heard that gives any form of music info on the screen from an aftermarket HU is the alpine. They do an interface box, but even then its limited in its abilitys and if i recall correctly, the box itself is over £80

    This is the main reason i stayed with the CD70 and gave up on ipod/iphone music and just made a handful of MP3 disks to satisfy my music needs.

    Rgds
    Aidi

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia Tourer

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI (160ps)

    Year : 2010

    Default

    Yup some of the high range Alpine units will do it, mine does (IVA-W505R) but it's restricted to pre-face half can cars at least with this model and the interface box (which does both screen and steering controls) cost me £95.

    Although a quick look at the Alpine website suggests they do one for full canbus these days. Here's the screen compatibility chart http://www.alpine-electronics.co.uk/...lity_Chart.pdf

    And the steering adaptor chart http://www.alpine-electronics.co.uk/...lity_Chart.pdf

    With most though the display adaptor does steering controls too. The mistake I made initially was buying the steering adaptor then looking for a screen one and ended up having to buy a new one that did both.
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    York
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    am not bothered at all about radio info as that will be in the New HU, am only concerned about the fuel consumption info (that makes me drive slower which in turn saves me money, am 34 and driving like I passed my test yesterday).

    So thanks for all the info guys...

    Now to find out if I can get an add on to make the steering wheel controls work with it

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    York
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Just to update, have bought the Pioneer 3200DVD as it was at the ridiculously low price of £213 delivered at amazon, came to £290 with fascia kit, steering wheel control gadget & rear camera etc....

    Works lovely, and I still have my fuel useage info....

    Perfect

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Will this Screen work with my cd30?
    By rickisgrate in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2nd September 2012, 13:33
  2. Replace CD30 with double din screen - Any walkthroughs?
    By Sumilidon in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th November 2011, 21:03
  3. Screen wash wont work
    By raddish in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 8th December 2010, 22:45
  4. Double DIN screen
    By chris_1d in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th September 2009, 18:03

Visitors found this page by searching for:

signum double din

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •