Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Vehicle : Vectra-C

Trim : SRi XP2 Nav

Engine : 1.9 CDTi 150

Year : 2008

Default Work Related Question

I work as a Trainee Prep Tecnician on Aircraft Wheels and Brakes, only been doing this job for 9 weeks. Training been very poor as they have been busy.....not convinced that's a justified reason. There is a reasonable amoint of lifting which isn't too heavy, just the odd piece.
    The other day I was sent to another site that is closing to load up stationary boxes. There were to be around 300, we did not know anything about weights and sizes. When we arrived, we found out they were all on the 1st floor. There were 3 of us and we were to work inline. I was to start by loading 3 at a time onto a sack barrow and push them 20 metres to a small lift and load them into it. I didn't think it was gonna be too difficult but after 20 minutes I put my back out placing one of the boxes onto the floor of the lift and fell to my knees in agony.
    I have had no training and the job had had no risk assessment although it had been planned to be done.
    Should I expect the company to pay me whilst off work? It happened last thursday and I got home an hour earlier than usual and had friday off. Been to doctors and been told to rest. Not feeling much better, but boss rang me friday and asked me if I was coming in monday. I do feel under pressure to return but my back is real sore and i'm struggling to walk, never mind lift. Company sick pay it paid at managers descretion?
    Any advice or thoughts on this appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Vehicle : Vectra C Facelift

Trim : Elite

Engine : 1.9Cdti 150

Year : 2007

Was the accident put into the statutory Accident Book ???

The reason the boss rang you is that if you are off for more than 3 days after a works related accident then HSE must be informed.

Is the company you work for quite a large company??