User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: cd30 mp3

  1. #1
    Regular Member Graeme01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default cd30 mp3

    just bought one to replace the cd30 in my veccy. Just wondering what needs to be done for the fitting i.e. tech 2 and is it complicated?

    cheers

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Did it come with a screen, or are you intending using your own?
    If using your own, then the replacement stereo should have been divorced (called delivery mode) from the donor car so that it can then be married up to your screen via tech2.
    If it came with a screen, then swap that over with your existing one and it should all be plug and play.

  3. #3
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Yep that sums it up in a nut-shell

    If divorced items, or head-unit only, then Tech 2 will be required.

    If a matched pair of head-unit and screen are being fitted, then it is simply plug in and away you go

  4. #4
    Regular Member Graeme01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    just picked up the head unit and i was under the impression that there would be a little slot in the back for the aux cable to plug into but i cant seem to see one. the only difference i can see from the cd30 i have is that on the new one there is a smallish black cone at the top of the headunit. Can anyone shed any light on the subject?

    cheers

  5. #5
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    The aux in should use three pins in the main connector..
    The exact pin numbers escape me...
    So look to see if your CD30 mp3 has these pins populated.

    It is not a guarantee that the head-unit does definately have the aux-in facility.

    If it does, then look for a big white sticker with a wiring / pin layout for the quadlock socket.
    Aux-in may well be marked on the sticker if present.

    Also, I would suspect that if your original car did not have aux-in connectivity, then the quadlock connector will need the three wiring positions populating to suit.

    Obviously these three wires would need to be connected to a 3.5mm jack socket.

    regarding th black "cone", then I have no idea.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The cone goes into a hole in the plastic at the back of the dash to secure the headunit. It is supposed to be there on all the standard headunits.

    If you post a pic of the label on the headunit we can tell you if it has the AUX in. If it does, it all goes through the quadlock connector, you need to insert pins into it with a jack on the other end of a wire.

  7. #7
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Pins for Aux In on CD30 and CDC40 (where DAB is not used), are

    Aux-In Audio Left - pin 31 (green/brown)

    Aux-In Audio Right - pin 32 (blue/red)

    Aux-In Ground reference - pin 38 (brown)

    If you don't want to mess with your connector (quadlock), then you can always get an SOT122S lead - regularly used for interfacing parrot or bluetooth kits...
    you can take the wires for pins 31, 32 and 38 to a separate jack socket

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fitting Parrot MKi9200- Can it run through CD30 aux?(does CD30 even have aux!?)
    By dibble750 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th January 2013, 02:20
  2. Quick CD30 to CD30 MP3 question
    By Chip in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th August 2012, 00:47
  3. Cd30 & bid
    By KyleSxi in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th April 2012, 15:50
  4. CD30 to CD30 MP3 Conversion
    By yysnet in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th October 2010, 00:20
  5. Replacing CD30 with CD30 MP3
    By Marky in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th August 2007, 13:38

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •