User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Problem fitting tuning box

  1. #1
    Regular Member 2.2 oil burner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    wales
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Problem fitting tuning box

    Hi all, just bought a tuning box off ebay, went to fit it now but i have a different type of plug to the one in the How-to. Well the plug looks similar but there is a different type of locking tab, blue not yellow. Tried to pull it out and the tab end just snapped off, very brittle (very pucking fissed off now!!!). Anybody had the same and if so how did you get the plug off??? I've tried picking at the tab but it's located underneath the plug with little room to play... i have a cdti150 not 2.2 as my username suggests..

  2. #2
    Regular Member kevcdti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    North east
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Pull the locking tab out (the bit you snapped off) then just pull the whole plug out,very easy to do mate

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    kirriemuir
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i had to pick mine out with a sharp pointed screw driver, fiddly but it came out

  4. #4
    Regular Member 2.2 oil burner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    wales
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Done it now, had to dismantle the hinged plastic reinforement bits on the plug to gain access then pick it the tab. Didn't have to come all the way out, just a bit to release catch. gonna take it for a spin now

  5. #5
    Regular Member 2.2 oil burner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    wales
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well, wot a let down. Car doesn't seem much faster if any. Tested on my favourite stretch of private road, accelerating hard i passed the first measurement point at aprox 79mph where normally it's about 77 and on to the next marker at 105 where normally only a ton, but that's not a massive improvement...It's set to level 3 (default setting) as the previous owner was so impressed with that setting he never turned it up? It goes up to level 8 so i think i'll have to turn it up. It's a diesel express box, what are fellow owners of said box running at/feel is the optimum setting for them??

  6. #6
    Regular Member bangty 1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    in a box
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i no some one on here run same box at 8 so try it and get back to us......i have a dtuk box and my cars a beast in 1st 2nd and 3rd gets to boost and well lets say its silly lol try it m8 and see what you get..................o and no big diffrence in speed just gets there faster i fort

    paul sri 150 is his user name

  7. #7
    Regular Member kevcdti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    North east
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No experience with that box but results should be very noticeable tbh,I've just put mine back on for abit as had no real interest apart from stupid offers lol

  8. #8
    Regular Member ONEMINUTESILENCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Skipton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I should be getting mine fitted tomorrow (post depending) which was Pauls. He had it on setting 8. I will let you know what mine is like running it on 3 also.

  9. #9
    Full Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I didnt see much of a difference at 3, think the lower settings are programed for for fuel economy

    Level 7 or 8 (whatever one doesnt overfuel/trigger a warning) provides a hell of a lot of torque increase

    I am missing mine already , saving for a live remap now or a DTUK box if i cant hold out for the remap haha
    Engine-DTUK eco3,K&N panel filter/airbox mod1&2,samco vac hoses,covers detailedExt-XP spliter,sig fogs,eyebrows,tinted side repeaters&rear lights,debadged,CC'd vxr valance/boot strip/calipers,heated jets,flatblade wipers,reverse cam,mtec bulbs,twin exhaust,8k HIDs,snowflakes,opel grill/insig griffinInt-TV/NAV/DVD,led&white GID conversion,footwell lighting,cooled g'box,custom headrests,blinds,JBL sub/amp

  10. #10
    Regular Member 2.2 oil burner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    wales
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Turned it up to 6, now can really feel the difference. Only trouble is, sometimes it feels like the extra power's not there. I had this when i bought the car in july with 32,000 miles on it. One minute there was plenty of power, the next it felt like it was holding back a little, didn't seem very torquey. I cleaned the boost sensor then and the car felt great all the time. It feels like this again now, but it's only done 40,500 miles so i wouldn've thought it was dirty again? Maybe the egr is sticking open sometimes, would this cause an intermittant loss of power/torque? Sometimes when accelerating it holds back a bit in a certain gear then when you change up, there's more power/torque in the higher gear??

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Vectra tuning box fitting help
    By shug176 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 20th September 2010, 02:25
  2. Problems fitting a tuning box to the 120.
    By felixx in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th July 2010, 21:05
  3. Fitting Eco Green Tuning Box
    By RMJonny in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th July 2010, 11:15
  4. Fitting a Tuning Box
    By Marky in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10th July 2006, 12:09
  5. Fitting tuning box for 120 cdti
    By Rick106 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th March 2006, 17:47

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •