User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: warning about headunits ,,cambus

  1. #1
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default warning about headunits ,,cambus

    vectra after 04 start to have cambus
    after maker headunit on the cambus will have to be swithch on useing the cig liter fead

    you cam use a cambus unit but it dosnt give you a acc feed so save the money for a better head unit
    but if your going for a full navi the cambus is the best way to go it will save you hours of messing about
    cambus gives you
    speed pulde
    handbreak
    lights
    reverse
    full ing

    also if you want to use your remote on the wheel and the radio you will have to back feed in your acc

    why this ,,,,,,,,,the cambus switch the feed on to this wheel control and also the amp to the areil

    remember always use a fuse the smaller the better a 1 amp fuse to switch your headunit on is fine
    Last edited by chrisgettings; 22nd August 2006 at 10:09.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Ben H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Herts\Beds Border
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Aren't these box's expensive, I know CAN box's just for speed pulse are about £60 odd trade + vat.
    Speed pulse can be found in N/S kick panel connector
    Handbrake isn't needed, everyone just connects it straight to ground so you have no restrictions in menus.
    Lights is easy enough, anywhere around the car.
    Reverse again not generally needed for sat nav, infact Alpine didn't used to have a reverse wire on their navs. If you want at rear light cluster.
    And ignition as you say at cig lighter or I took one from fuse box behind glove box for my front parking sensors.
    Reckon I could connect up to them in 20 minutes, half hour tops. And at £45/hour labour even 1 hours labour I'm guessing is cheaper than a CAN box.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Steven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Dalriada
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    mine is full canbus and i fitted an aftermarket head unit without much hassle but as you say you have to connect it to the cig lighter...but its a piece of pi55 TBH

  4. #4
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben H
    Aren't these box's expensive, I know CAN box's just for speed pulse are about £60 odd trade + vat.
    Speed pulse can be found in N/S kick panel connector
    Handbrake isn't needed, everyone just connects it straight to ground so you have no restrictions in menus.
    Lights is easy enough, anywhere around the car.
    Reverse again not generally needed for sat nav, infact Alpine didn't used to have a reverse wire on their navs. If you want at rear light cluster.
    And ignition as you say at cig lighter or I took one from fuse box behind glove box for my front parking sensors.
    Reckon I could connect up to them in 20 minutes, half hour tops. And at £45/hour labour even 1 hours labour I'm guessing is cheaper than a CAN box.
    all true
    cam bus boxs are around 130
    its only easy if you know why to look for the wires
    iso has them all but no handbreak wire if you can get the radio out and some are a nightmare to get out
    Last edited by chrisgettings; 22nd August 2006 at 15:42.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Caterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Here, there and every where!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 05

    Default

    You don't need a handbrake wire, connect it to ground.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Maddog1974's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Colchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Fitted one of these the other day that gives Ignition, Speed Pulse, Reverse, Handbrake, Headlights etc works fine 90% of the time but on the odd occasion it doesnt give the ignition to the stereo & nav. Leave it 5 mins and all is ok! Think i will end up going to the cigar lighter instead

    I bought it at cost + 10% which was about £90 inc vat.

    Connects2 do one now which also uses the can bus steering controlls for various stereo's and that is much cheaper (still gives ignition, reverse etc) not sure on retail but they cost us £29.50 + vat to buy in typical i had already bought the other one when i found out!

  7. #7
    Regular Member DennisTheMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dorset
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It's CAN - Bus Mate not cam , can meaning Controlled Area network .

  8. #8
    Regular Member Maddog1974's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Colchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DennisTheMenace
    It's CAN - Bus Mate not cam , can meaning Controlled Area network .

    I have to laugh the amount of people who call it Cam Bus

  9. #9
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    member of the smoke patrol 230bhp+
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Maddog1974
    I have to laugh the amount of people who call it Cam Bus
    im a spark i should know better

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Are These HIDS Cambus Compatible?
    By Kev_G in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th August 2011, 18:59
  2. cambus or non cambus? How do i tell?
    By Kev_G in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th January 2011, 15:53
  3. Pioneer Double-din DVD PLAYER WITH VECTRA C FULL CAMBUS FITTING KIT
    By shearzy in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th September 2010, 19:35
  4. Cambus/Steering wheel contols for Apline H/U
    By Rockster in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th February 2009, 21:37
  5. cambus in the boot
    By chrisgettings in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st June 2008, 07:52

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •