User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ECU Question

  1. #1
    Regular Member manimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Grimsby uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default ECU Question

    I am arranging for an ECU to be delivered,everything to get the car started for £135.
    Best price so far.
    Once i have fitted it, does it it need programming for it to start the car ?
    If so, does it have to be with a Tech 2 or can it be done with a unit from 'snap-on tools' ?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Bristol
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : CDTI 150

    Trim : Design

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Default

    Yes some programming will have to be done.
    The ECU will need advising of certain 'options' e.g. automatic or manual etc.
    Then there will be the need to program your VIN to the ECU (it needs to match whats in the other ECU.
    I've not used the Snap On tool, so not sure.
    But Tech 2 or Vaux/Op Com can do this.

    I know yours is to early to be a CDTI but for info a CDTI would need to have each of the injectors coded in

  3. #3
    Regular Member manimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Grimsby uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Than for the info.Mine is a 1.8 petrol.
    Where do i find the VIN ?

  4. #4
    Regular Member LADmachining's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by manimal View Post
    Than for the info.Mine is a 1.8 petrol.
    Where do i find the VIN ?
    On the V5 (registration document).
    On a sticker on the B-pillar (next to the drivers' seat)
    On the plate visible through the windscreen (passenger side)
    From one of the other control units (such as the CIM)

  5. #5
    Regular Member Kyser143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Bradford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi mate could I ask where u got your ECU from I also am in need of one and mines a 1.8 aswell. I have checked with some places but they want ECU Part number but I can't see this on mine Is it underneath in which case how is an ECU Removed.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRI

    Engine : 1.9 CDTI 150

    Year : 2005

    Default

    did you check to see if it had been reset by tech 2/opcom.

    if it has then you would need to program it to your car, if not you might need the original car pass code so you can reset it to work on your car and prog the new keys etc

  7. #7
    Regular Member manimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Grimsby uk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Apparently the unit has been cleared.
    The problem i have is,i have had a different engine fitted in the past, so the VIN will be different. I've heard it is on the engine somewhere.....but where ?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. GSI Inner tie rod question.
    By Lee_gsi in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th August 2011, 19:46
  2. question about hid
    By marc vectra sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22nd July 2011, 23:15
  3. Vaux-Com / Op-Com question - Screen change question
    By AntSSSS in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th May 2010, 23:54
  4. Just a question...!
    By Maxim007 in forum Styling
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th January 2010, 20:12
  5. BSR question
    By soulman in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 6th October 2007, 22:55

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •