User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Nav Screen Question

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Carlisle
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Nav Screen Question

    Im looking at upgrading the sound system in my vec since the only bass is rattely.
    I have the CD70 with full colour Nav. The nav im not overly fussed about as it cant find my house anyway, but the other Features such as MPG, Miles Per Tank and the other bits and bobs i quite like having, it helps me be more fuel efficient i suppose.

    So my question is, is there any headunits out there that will still allow you use of this? Or will upgrading my headunit render the screen useless?

    If its going to be useless then i think ill just upgrade the door speakers.

  2. #2
    Regular Member yysnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Do you have steering wheel scroller radio control? If so you can still control it while the unit is out. But you will lost first menu(audio) and middle menu(nav).

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Carlisle
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the reply.

    Yea i have the scrollers on the steering wheel so this is a good start.

    By loosing the screens, do you mean that they will dissapear from the menu selection or just come up blank if you select them? Hopefully they dissapear because i just want it to stay on that screen all the time.

    I might buy the harness and facia this weekend and just try it and see what happens and see if i like it.

    If i choose to revert back to the standard unit, will it request a key code? as my car didnt come with one.

  4. #4
    Regular Member yysnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    They will disappear if you unplug the head unit iirc. CD70 are paired to your screen so no key code required.

  5. #5
    Regular Member yysnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Only problem is, you need to adjust the time by tech2.

    Reverse back is not a problem at all, just plug back

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Carlisle
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have saw tech2 mentioned in a few posts, could you shed some light on this? Being my first vec im not overly familiar with them, as you can probably tell lol

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Tech2 is a handheld diagnostic and fault diagnosis device that connects to the socket beneath the ashtray. Not only does it indicate potential faults, it can be used to program all manner of things in the car, reset warning lights, program new keys, etc.

    Not a cheap bit of kit either. You're talking about something costing £3k upwards.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Carlisle
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I did a quick search on ebay yesterday and saw they were inbetween £2500-£3000 so its safe to say that wont be on the christmas list.
    Has anyone tried the cheaper versions that you plug into the laptop?

    Suppose i could always connect up the old head unit when the clock needs changed.

    I got my headunit, sub and amp from my mums house last night, so if i find a couple hours spare inbetween work this weekend (7 days a week isnt good) then ill get that fitted if halfords or similar have the bits i need.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. another GID screen question (last one i promise lol)
    By taffy bhoy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th December 2011, 19:12
  2. Information screen question
    By MARKPRIOR in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th January 2011, 09:57
  3. Vaux-Com / Op-Com question - Screen change question
    By AntSSSS in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th May 2010, 23:54
  4. A question regarding cd30 screen
    By SRI-RICH in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th May 2010, 20:53
  5. screen wash bottle question
    By signum03 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th August 2009, 19:59

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •