User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: SAT-NAV what do i need to install??

  1. #1
    Regular Member Turbomanrony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    LEEDS
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default SAT-NAV what do i need to install??

    I am looking to buy a sat nav what do i need which cables ??

    do i need arial?

    is it an easy job?

  2. #2
    Regular Member Handyandy-UK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, Englandshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : BMW 525i

    Trim : SE Touring

    Engine : 3.0

    Year : 2007

    Default

    I'm sure there's a How2 on this one... but start with question 1... is your car half or full canbus ? (3+3 buttons on steering wheel - 1/2 canbus... scrollers+buttons - full canbus).

    Half canbus can be done but requires more kit.

    Assuming you're full canbus, you'll want CD70 headunit, whichever screen is married to it from the donor vehicle (ideally full colour), roof loom and antenna, any missing harnessing/cabling for behind dash.

    Not a cheap project, but do-able.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Turbomanrony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    LEEDS
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    thanks for the info,

    how many cables connect to the back of the sterio that go to the arial?

    why is there a roof loom?

  4. #4
    Regular Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C


    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2004

    Default

    You dont have to swap arial.. you just could use one and place it where the dash speaker goes.. or just in front of it.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Handyandy-UK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, Englandshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : BMW 525i

    Trim : SE Touring

    Engine : 3.0

    Year : 2007

    Default

    My reply was based on fitting the original kit.

    As Kenp noted, if you wish you can always bypass the roof mounted antenna and fit an aftermarket antenna at the base of the windscreen - as long as it has a clear 'view' of the sky it would be fine.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Turbomanrony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    LEEDS
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    were can i get arial from?

  7. #7
    Regular Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C


    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2004

    Default

    OEM or aftermarked? OEM the dealers.. the other on ebay.

  8. #8
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Do you know that the oem VX sat nav doesn't do full post codes? The early ones don't take any and the CD70 only takes the first five digits.

    Just a bit of info incase you didn't know.

    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  9. #9
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Antrim
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Or you could just buy a Garmin. The screen on the dash board is not in a good place for Sat Nav use. Better with a portable unit that can be positioned where you can safely see it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. new install in the vec
    By bensterzback in forum Quick Photo Album
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 18th October 2010, 21:10
  2. What do I need for an install?
    By JamieD27 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd October 2010, 07:05
  3. My install!
    By smiley-sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th December 2009, 22:44
  4. My little ICE install
    By bensterzback in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 29th January 2009, 20:08
  5. HID kit install.. help
    By Steven T Davies-Moss in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd December 2008, 00:05

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •