User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Will a 150 tuning box fit a 120.....NO!

  1. #1
    Regular Member smiley-sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Tamworth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Will a 150 tuning box fit a 120.....NO!

    After numerous people asking the question will a diesel tuning box from a cdti 150, fit a cdti 120 and no one really knowing the answer I decided to take the plunge and give it ago.

    Went and bought a caterman box to fit a 150.

    All plugs fitted snug but fire up the car and the traction control light stays on and you have no throttle response, same as if the common rail plug was unplugged.

    Shame as im on the look out for another caterman.

  2. #2
    Regular Member paul wingnut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra sri 150


    Engine : 1900 cdti 150

    Year : 2008

    Default

    I had the same problem when i fitted mine turn the plug a full turn then it should be fine you can put it either way

  3. #3
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Have you connected it the wrong way around?

  4. #4
    Regular Member smiley-sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Tamworth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Tryed plugs in every way possible.

    With the plug plugged in what looked the wrong way round it revved hesitantly to 3500rpm but no more.

    Took it for a drive and it was slow and jumpy.

    Then it kicked in and out in and out of power as if it wanted to work.

    Left the engine running while playing with the wires and it was as if the box was turning on and off.

    Turned out a loose connection on the plug of the box. Quick repair and it works a treat!!

    So i take it back it does work

  5. #5
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    See you should believe your fellow vec owners
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  6. #6
    Regular Member smiley-sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Tamworth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I didnt think anybody knew weather they worked on both.
    Would this be the same for the dtuk's?

  7. #7
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smiley-sri View Post
    I didnt think anybody knew weather they worked on both.
    Would this be the same for the dtuk's?
    I think that the DTUK's are digital boxes, whereas the caterman's are analogue. They are a bit less sophisticated in the way that they fool the ECU.

    Note: Don't pay any more attention to your onboard computer (if you have one) because from now on it will lie to you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. TDI tuning - tuning box thoughts so far...
    By nichols120 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th February 2012, 20:48
  2. tuning box or not to tuning box that is the question
    By dazzer t in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 15th October 2010, 21:47
  3. need help with tuning box
    By decks in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th September 2010, 19:49
  4. Caterman/T-Tuning Tuning Box for 1.9CDTi 150 (Z19DTH)
    By CHRISRi in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th May 2009, 18:49
  5. Diesel Tuning UK Tuning Box FOR SALE CDti 150
    By sshooie in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 1st April 2008, 16:49

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •