Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Default To all you self employed BEWARE

We all know that finding work in this financial climate is hard and it seems that there are a few large companies looking to take advantage using underarm tactics.
    Im a Labour only Industrial roofing contractor, Ive been working for the same few companies for five years. Never had a problem with getting paid when work is correct and completed in time. Working in any trade you get to know some of the bigger names in that trade. Work is slack at the best of time though we have had a constant streem of work.
    Recently a major name in my trade contacted me regarding a run of work in my particular field to keep at least 5 full time trades men on. Knowing the company I took on the work 12 weeks ago. We work on the basis of 30days terms, ie you work a week, submit invoice then approx 30days later get paid.
    To cut a long story short, I was told that the company was getting restructured so a third party company with a very simmular name would be paying the invoice. i agreed and started work, 5 weeks in having had 4 men and myself on site with digs and costs, not paid!! Rang the office, sorry having problems with the invoice name can i change it and re submit. so i did, pay rolled into next week. next week came another problem. Stupidly allowed this to happen for 3 weeks.
    Finnal enough! stopped men and started to pull off site. Site agent got on the phone and i got a call, " Can you stay till the end of the week and ill get a payment for week one in the bank by end of business." got the payment as promised and stayed to the end of the week.
    On the weekend i was sat in the van preparing and invoice when the MD of the Front company turned up next to me with another guy, I overheard them talking.