User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Can the car/spanner light be reset?

  1. #1
    Regular Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Can the car/spanner light be reset?

    Right this is really bugging me now!

    after finishing my led conversion, the car/spanner light decided to show itself, it has been on now for 2 days and no signs of going away

    The airbag light i also staying illuminated now and again also.

    Before changing remaining LEDs, there was no issues with car, so obviously something has triggered it

    I have tried disconnecting battery but it did not reset light, and also i have tried to read code by holding pedals down, and i got nothing

    I have checked all LEDs and the new ones soldered (all plcc2 90 degrees replaced and also the 4 plcc4's in odometer), and they all seem fine, all illuminating with no problems.

    what could it be??? Could a problem with LED's spike the engine electrics? i could do with a code reader but havent got a spare £40 at the moment.

    Any ideas? (appart from taking the car/spanner & airbag LED out lol, concidering that!)

  2. #2
    Regular Member AKeeNShoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South Shields, T&W
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i doubt very much that the leds are causing your light to come on, i most certainly have never heard of it anyway. check all the plugs again, any faults you try and remove like that will flash up in the mileage display anyway, you would need to put a small resistor in its place. its worth having the codes read though, i'm intrigued by this.
    i seem to remember that you said the car 's running ok?

  3. #3
    Regular Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yep running no different than usual!

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have done a few hundred LED conversions and have never had this problem.

    You need to get the car on tech2. All we can do is guess.

  5. #5
    Regular Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Marvelous, suppose I am going to have to get hold of a code reader and find out what's going on!

  6. #6
    Regular Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    just bought

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...%3DI%26otn%3D1

    suppose it will be a handy thing to have anyway!

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Did you turn the key in the ign with the clocks out by any chance?

  8. #8
    Regular Member Craig1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    harwich essex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Did u take airbox out? If so did u plug the maf sensor back in?

  9. #9
    Full Member chrisvectra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Are you VXR Enough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : VXR8 6.0 muscle SRI ESTATE XP1

    Trim : VXR/ SRI ESTATE CDTI XP1

    Engine : 6.0 V8 Thunder

    Year : 2008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paul_sri150 View Post
    just bought

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...%3DI%26otn%3D1

    suppose it will be a handy thing to have anyway!
    I've got one of these fella it's alright but I don't think it will knock off your airbag light
    VXR IS FOR LIFE NOT JUST FOR THRILLS !



  10. #10
    Regular Member AntSSSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Middlesex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : SRI

    Engine : CDTI 150 (Z19 DTH)

    Year : 2008

    Mileage : 100k

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisvectra View Post
    I've got one of these fella it's alright but I don't think it will knock off your airbag light
    What Chris said - this will not reset your Airbag light

    You need Tech II or Vaux-Com for that.. Where are you? I have Vaux-Com and can help you if you are local to Heathrow? If not there may be other members that would be happy to help you with Vaux-Com?

    Failing that you will have to part with silver and get it on a Tech II at a garage.

    HTH

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Spanner light.how do i reset?
    By Dobs in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th August 2012, 02:16
  2. spanner light reset emission light now on HELP!
    By johnny boy67 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th December 2009, 12:07
  3. How to reset spanner light?
    By busterpoo in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd March 2009, 13:56
  4. Spanner Light - Does it need to be reset?
    By thompo5 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 7th February 2009, 05:56
  5. Spanner light & ECU reset - 2002 GSi
    By gtr1000 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 8th March 2008, 08:29

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c spanner light reset

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •