User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CD30 and no steering controls

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Befordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default CD30 and no steering controls

    Just picked up my 05 breeze 1.8i and loving the car, but missing a few creature comforts. As i said in the title ive got a CD30 without steering controls and a 2 line display in the centre console.

    How hard is it to upgrade the stereo and display to maybe a DAB/Sat nav setup? I guess i could live without the steering controls coz i imagine thats not an easy swap?

    Only had the car a day and im looking at mods already!!!!!!

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Steering controls are easy, just fit a steering wheel with them on then get the CIM reprogrammed to show they are present.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On a CD30 the cim and display are automatically programmed for wheel controls - despite them not always being fitted.

    CD70's and CDC40's may indeed need their displays or the cim programming to suit - using Tech 2

    A CDC40 without DAB and a CD70 will virtually just plug straight in,

    however you may need two extra wires in the display plug. (the non-basic screens need two reds and two brown wires in the display plug).
    To get around this, link pins 1 and 2, then link pins 3 and 5 in the display plug.

    The CD70 Navi would also need a sat-nav aerial - available from e-bay for under £16 (if you get a generic patch type aerial). TomTom and VW patch aerials work fine for this.
    It must have the blue fakra connector fitted.

    CDC40 with DAB is a lot more cmplex due to the link aerial wires - these are hard to come by.

    CDC40 will need a GID screen, and CD70 will need either a GID or CID screen.
    The standard TID (as supplied with most CD30's) will not be able to display the correct functions - due to lack of pixel space / incorrect pixel format.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The CIM is unlikely to be programmed for the controls if they are not there. Might get lucky but I've never seen it with my vaux-com. If they were programmed as present when they weren't there would be fault codes.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It may be a Vx thing - you know - pot luck between one vehicle and the next.

    Indeed, when mine was checked, it threw up a fault saying left control no voltage or something.
    This was for a CD30 and TID, with no controls.

    I now have CD70, CID and no controls,

    Buying a steering wheel is not that staright forward, as there are about five variations, dependent upon half / full can, pre / post facelift , three / four spoke steering wheel. !!

    I am still looking for one, for my four spoke pre-facelift full CAN set-up.

    I assume your Vaux Com is an original "official" unit, as it is not un-known for unofficial op-com and vaux-com units to not see all the faults that are present.
    (No slur implied).

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yep, it's an official Vaux-com, from Ilexa. Had a bad experience with a dodgy opcom so stay well clear of them these days.

    If it's a CD30 I'm pretty sure it will be full CAN, no??

  7. #7
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yep, CC20, CD30, CDC40, CD50, CD60 CD70 and DVD90 are all full CAN units.

    CCR, CDR, NCDC and NCDR radios are Half CAN units.

  8. #8
    Regular Member yysnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The remote radio control register is in CIM.
    My car (preface fullcan) did not have any control button, so i bought a set (scroll) from somewhere and retrofitted to my steering wheel. After the install i found that left button and scroller not work at all, and any right button is for the horn.
    Use vauxcom or tech2, year and model, find and enter CIM, enter your pass, variant coding, there is a steering wheel radio control register to change from not present to scroll (or button according to switch you fit), program.

    Then this will activate the steering radio control and works for my CD30 and CD70 and CID only without any head unit.

    EDIT: it's the CIM whom take the signal of your steering radio control and broadcast to mid speed canbus (EHU and DIS).

  9. #9
    Regular Member yysnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    BTW Robsey, factory fitted CD30 cars may not be pre-programmed for radio control if it's not there. I activate radio control according to above post for myself, two friends (one is preface fullcan, one is facelifted fullcan)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. steering controls
    By caitlin6 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th February 2013, 05:55
  2. steering controls
    By dcm23251981 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2nd February 2012, 01:42
  3. steering controls
    By jensie in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 31st December 2011, 12:16
  4. Steering Controls & JVC
    By Thom in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th November 2010, 15:23
  5. steering controls
    By russ32434 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th March 2010, 23:26

Visitors found this page by searching for:

cd 30 not working steering

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •