User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: snoopers/camera detectors

  1. #1
    Full Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default snoopers/camera detectors

    does anyone know the best place to get myself one of these?

    i want one that i can neatly tuck away in the cubby hole under the heater panel, so the dimentions have to be right also

    a pic of anyone that has done it would be great too!
    Engine-DTUK eco3,K&N panel filter/airbox mod1&2,samco vac hoses,covers detailedExt-XP spliter,sig fogs,eyebrows,tinted side repeaters&rear lights,debadged,CC'd vxr valance/boot strip/calipers,heated jets,flatblade wipers,reverse cam,mtec bulbs,twin exhaust,8k HIDs,snowflakes,opel grill/insig griffinInt-TV/NAV/DVD,led&white GID conversion,footwell lighting,cooled g'box,custom headrests,blinds,JBL sub/amp

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator Leemarksmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Hanging Heaton / Batley
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paul_sri150 View Post
    does anyone know the best place to get myself one of these?

    i want one that i can neatly tuck away in the cubby hole under the heater panel, so the dimentions have to be right also

    a pic of anyone that has done it would be great too!
    I asked the same not long ago...

    The snooper s3 / s4 fits nicely in the hole, but i think you'd need to add a seperate detector as i dont think it would get the signal...

    s3 r neo

  3. #3
    Full Member paul_sri150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    cheers lee, top man
    Engine-DTUK eco3,K&N panel filter/airbox mod1&2,samco vac hoses,covers detailedExt-XP spliter,sig fogs,eyebrows,tinted side repeaters&rear lights,debadged,CC'd vxr valance/boot strip/calipers,heated jets,flatblade wipers,reverse cam,mtec bulbs,twin exhaust,8k HIDs,snowflakes,opel grill/insig griffinInt-TV/NAV/DVD,led&white GID conversion,footwell lighting,cooled g'box,custom headrests,blinds,JBL sub/amp

  4. #4
    Full Member Old man Jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cumbria
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've got the snooper lynx and I can't recomend it enough. Alas as it is GPS and GPRS it needs to be dash mounted unless you buy the extra antenna kit.

    It's saved my ass quite a few times and I've not had it long..
    Ken-tec FTW.

  5. #5
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leemarksmith View Post
    I asked the same not long ago...

    The snooper s3 / s4 fits nicely in the hole, but i think you'd need to add a seperate detector as i dont think it would get the signal...

    s3 r neo

    No. I have one of those and the GPS and laser detectors are built-in. The 'add-on' detector you mention is a Radar detector which requires wiring under the bonnet in the lower grille area and plugs into the RD socket at the side of the unit.

    S3 NEO requires GPS updates via the Internet, on subscription. I paid £50 for lifetime updates, once my initial subscription lapsed.

    My 2 built-in laser detectors have never ever detected anything...not a sausage, but the GPS camera detector is bang-on IMO.

  6. #6
    Regular Member accveccysriturbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    west mids
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I to am looking at something would be ace if you could tuck it into the slim hole under the air con.

    Or could you do something with it by the map lights?

    I looked at one that was size of a USB stick but have not brought anything yet

  7. #7
    Full Member Old man Jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cumbria
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    AFAIK all the GPS systems have to have a clear line of sight up into the sky and if you have the purpley windscreen that can cause signal issues. So I'd think if you're going to tuck it away under the air-con you'd need to wire in the extra aerial for it to get a decent GPS signal.

    HTH.
    Ken-tec FTW.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The USB one i think you were eluding to would be the Inforad K1 or K2. I had one for a while, but decided i wanted something visual as well as audible. Just so you are aware, i let mine aquire the sats, then put it in the arm rest. It kept its GPS fix for the full duration of my journey (about a 6 hour round trip) so it does not a clear view of the sky.

    If it will work in the arm rest, then i reckon you have a good chance of it working in the slot under the AirCon unit.

    I eventuly ended up with a Snooper Sapphire. Again, this will work out of direct view of the sky and it keeps a solid GPS fix. I ended up cutting out a hole in my sunvisor and fitting it there so it was not cluttering up my dashboard etc.

    Rgds
    Aidi

  9. #9
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Old man Jimbo View Post
    AFAIK all the GPS systems have to have a clear line of sight up into the sky and if you have the purpley windscreen that can cause signal issues. So I'd think if you're going to tuck it away under the air-con you'd need to wire in the extra aerial for it to get a decent GPS signal.

    HTH.
    Never had a problem getting a GPS signal with my Snooper fixed ( and therefore removable) to the dashboard with Velcro pads. Maybe not that elegant or aesthetically pleasing, and passengers may moan about the constant bleeping on detecting a camera, but it's my car and my licence I wish to keep clean.

  10. #10
    Regular Member deanos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Old man Jimbo View Post
    AFAIK all the GPS systems have to have a clear line of sight up into the sky and if you have the purpley windscreen that can cause signal issues. So I'd think if you're going to tuck it away under the air-con you'd need to wire in the extra aerial for it to get a decent GPS signal.

    HTH.
    I dunno, in my combo van i have my TomTom sat under the heater controls in the cubby hole and it works perfect



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. camera detectors
    By Adam23 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th October 2010, 06:54
  2. speed/camera detectors ...whos's got them
    By Deztroyer in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 19th July 2010, 19:34
  3. Speed Camera Detectors
    By denzo in forum General Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 15th October 2007, 09:22
  4. Speed Camera Detectors
    By Rodnoc in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 23rd October 2006, 15:09
  5. New Camera
    By armoured farmer in forum General Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th June 2006, 22:32

Visitors found this page by searching for:

what is the RD socket on snooper S4

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •