User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How Do I Fit A Sub???????

  1. #1
    Regular Member Braggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    St Helens
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default How Do I Fit A Sub???????

    I have a JBL sub and amp all pre wired which came out of my old astra g.
    Just wondered how easy it is to fit to my new Vectra C SRi 2.2 DTi on '53 plate, and where I would pick up switched live and speaker connections etc.
    if anyone has any pictures or any instruction this would help alot

    cheers folks

  2. #2
    Regular Member Beavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Blackburn Lancashire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you can pick up your switched feed and out puts off the rear of your head unit (standard ) not such a hard job really

    I got a lead from autoleads for the pre out for the amp

  3. #3
    Regular Member Spikey©'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I recently fitted a sub and amp, ran a live feed to the amp straight from the battery with an in-line fuse, ran the switch to turn on from the 'automatic electric arial' lead from the HU, cut into the ISO loom wires, not sure if standard Vx HUs have this though as vecs dont have electric arials??

  4. #4
    Regular Member BlueRob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    According to my experince it´s always better to run a cable directly from the battery.... as SPIKEY said...make shure you add a fuse (near the battery) an use a good cable, a fat one....the reason to do so is that any amp. is more efficient when it´s supplyed with power efficiently, I would also recomend the use of a capasitor right before the amp. this would shorten the distance from the Electric source (in this case the capasitor) to the amp. By the way...if you are running singnal cables to the trunk too , make shure they don´t run near the path of the power cable...this will prevent the hearing of stange signal noises. I always run power cables (ground and power) on the right side of the car and signal cables (like RCA) on the left side.

    BR

  5. #5
    Regular Member Braggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    St Helens
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    thanks for the help chaps, but was hoping somebody would be able to tell me which wire was which at the head unit end ie speakers and switched live so i can connected them without blowing anything up.

    cheers

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    SOMERSET
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you take out the head unit it is clearly marked on the back what your speaker connections are and switched lives ect..... Just take your time dont rush. Sometimes taking a picture on your digi camera before you take things apart can be usefull.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Braggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    St Helens
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers cocker!

    I will give it at go this weekend


  8. #8
    Regular Member Damian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Market Drayton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Have any of you guys put a boxed sub in the boot of a Vectra yet, if so could you post some pics.

    Am looking at getting either a 10" or 12" sub in a box which has the angled back to push up against the seat. However when I had the boot open today it isn't actually possible to put one up against the seat as there are 2 plastic covers coming down the side of the boot and across the bottom not quite meeting under the "ski" hatch.

    I can't picture a place for one as yet

    Any help

    Cheers

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •