User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DVD90 Displaying Car Speed ?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default DVD90 Displaying Car Speed ?

    Is DVD90 Navi displaying car's speed somewhere? I can't find it and it seems a curious omission to me, because the car's speedometer doesn't give the correct speed, and it is analog at that !

    TIA

    Alex

  2. #2
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Not sure on the DVD 90, however on the CD70 navi, you can find the current speed by going to the hidden test screens section.

    Put the screen into main screen
    Then hold the settings button pressed in until a bong sound is heard
    Testmode On should then flash up.
    Then press the BC button repeatedly until you see the screen below.
    You should get a screen full of text.
    About three lines down, it will give the current speed in kph.

    When you are done, just press BC again repeatedly unitl you end up at the main screen.
    Then press Main
    and then hold the settings button pressed for 20 seconds until it bongs again.
    Testmode off should then flash up on the display.

    Here it is on my dirty GID screen (full of dog hairs and fluff)
    Last edited by Robsey; 26th July 2010 at 19:56.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    If it's the same as the CD70 then press and hold the Settings button until you hear a chime and "test mode" appears on the display.

    If you then press the Navi key a couple of times you'll get the speed reading up (in KM/HR)

    edit - beaten to it by one minute

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vauxhall Astra-J

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robsey View Post
    When you are done, just press Navi again,
    Then press Main
    and then hold the settings button pressed for 20 seconds until it bongs again.
    Testmode off should then flash up on the display.
    Or just switch off the igntion and remove the key.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It worked !!! Thanks to all.

    Still, IMO, this information belongs to one of the main SatNav displays, as is the case on cheap add-on navigators like MIO, TomTom etc.

    Alex

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Oh, I was thinking that the speed data comes from the GPS. In fact it doesn't, but what's important is that it is a more precise value that the one on the speedometer.

    I still beleive that the SatNav should display its own measurement.

    Alex

  7. #7
    Regular Member LADmachining's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you go into 'testmode', then press 'Navi' twice, you will display the data page for the GPS system. This has the GPS calculated speed data on it.



    3rd row down, on the left-hand side "GPS V"

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yes, thanks a lot !!

    Alex

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Outside Temperature not Displaying!!
    By suresh.chohan in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th April 2011, 18:13
  2. 12v Cig Lighter not displaying 12v??
    By callist in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th May 2010, 22:17
  3. 1.9 CDTi Computer Screen displaying 'F'
    By cjchapman in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th October 2009, 22:29
  4. CD70 Not displaying song titles?
    By PeterVV in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th December 2008, 19:38
  5. Dvd90
    By Ashtoroth in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st May 2007, 13:15

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •