User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Fed up - please help... Aftermarket double din headunit fitting

  1. #1
    Regular Member andyfeeny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorks
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fed up - please help... Aftermarket double din headunit fitting

    Ive just bought a new double din pioneer heaunit from my missus for my birthday and since have realised that buying the thing really isnt anywhere near the start of it...

    Currently the car has sat nav (siemens sorry cant remember the no) with the colour screen. Will I be able to keep the trip comp bits? Ive done quite a few searches and each has confused me just that little more...!

    Car is a 52 reg 2.2 sri (half canbus) by the way.

    Im still fed up now at the fact Ive got to pay nearly £50 for a bit of plastic and a cage that should be supplied with it as far as I am concerned .

    Any help would be fantastic

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    trip computer should still finction matey but steering controls wont unless u buy extra leads, im not sure if you can actually change a h/u if it has sat nav?? u might loose the nav? i dont know how it works really.

    someone will be along to sort it out for you mate

    oh and yes you really do need the fascia plate and cage, audio gets very expensive very quickly!

    i just replaced my h/u for a double din and wish i hadnt bothered, seems alot of effort for little gain but alas hindsight is a great thing and each to their own.


    hope you get it sorted fella

  3. #3
    Regular Member Ademusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dunstable
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yes you will lose the satnav, but not too sure about the trip computer functions. They are controlled through the wiper stalk so you may be lucky and still have trip function.

  4. #4
    Regular Member andyfeeny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorks
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Im ok with losing the sat nav - I have it on my phone and with postcode search which is the one thing that drives me nuts about the Vaux one.

    I just dont really want to lose the trip comp... Currently this is controlled off the headunit using a BC button and the rotary knob on the right of the unit. As far as I am aware there isnt anything on my wiper stalk although I may be wrong??!

  5. #5
    Regular Member platty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Paisley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi mate Ive just fitted a double din unit, my car is full can though but I've kept my trip etc using a steering wheel interface. not sure if it's the same for half can though. Have a look here http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/index.php for the fascia and any interfaces you need.

  6. #6
    Regular Member daddy07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ayrshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i have just put in a pioneer head unit in my dti i never had the trip comp that i know of and i def don't have anything on my wiper stalk but i still get the full display the only problem i have is since i got the leads for the steering wheel control the unit is a coincident live know i found a sit where i got all the leads for £25 pound instead of the 40 halfords wanted for one

  7. #7
    Regular Member andyfeeny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorks
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Anyone have a definitive answer??

  8. #8
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    From what I am aware of, you will have had one of the NCDC head units, either the 2013 or 2015.

    These are slightly odd head units in so far as they sit on both sides of the half can / full can fence. In fact in Omega format, they can be used without any canbus in the vehicle.

    They have the half can loomage (ISO connector), however the screen is the brains of the audio system.

    You will retain the computer functions etc, however you will most likely need the steering wheel control buttons (not the stalk switch). The lesser half can units could use the stalk switch for computer functions, but not the NCDC's.

    Ordinarily though for the NCDC's the headunit buttons and knobs operate the computer functions.

    In essence then, you will need the steering wheel adapter loom ( ensure you get the half can unit for EARLY Vectra-C and Omega-B. If it can't do 2000 to 2003 Omega-B, then it will be the full can adapter loom.

    Many loom sellers just say Vectra-C 2002 onward, but this is tosh.
    You want 2002 to 2004 ( 52 to 04 plate)
    The one you DON'T want is 2005 onward ( 54 to 58 plate) - this is full can with the quadlock connector.

    And you will probably know, you must ensure that you get the permanent live and ignition live wires of the new head unit the correct way round - ordinarily Vauxhall wire these up the wrong way round.

    Hope this helps, however the daddy of radio and screen knowledge is Kman, I am sure he will post a reply in due course.

  9. #9
    Regular Member andyfeeny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorks
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Kman has already been in touch! What a legend he is...

  10. #10
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andyfeeny View Post
    Kman has already been in touch! What a legend he is...

    Did his comments say anything like mine?

    I am more of a full can person, whereas he has done nearly everything there is to do to a half can!!

    Like you say, he is a legend, and an all round good guy .

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help fitting double din head unit... aftermarket cage question?
    By Deann in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th September 2011, 10:23
  2. Aftermarket headunit wired to battery
    By tubby in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th October 2010, 22:03
  3. Aftermarket Headunit
    By mshaw in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 17th November 2009, 10:28
  4. Vectra Aftermarket Headunit Help
    By jmacp in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th May 2009, 21:35
  5. Aftermarket Headunit
    By bigdan in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th December 2006, 21:56

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •