User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: On board trip computer upgrade(1.9cdti 2004)easy to do?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default On board trip computer upgrade(1.9cdti 2004)easy to do?

    Hello all,i'm just a little confused as to whether I would be able to change my onboard computer as I only have the basic one fitted,i've spotted the GID(full colour display)which seem's to use the same interface so in thoery it should go straight in,will it need to be reprogrammed into my car?I know I won't be able to use all the function's on the new display but it'll look a thousand time's better!

    Sorry if I have posted this in the wrong section.
    Regard's,
    Sanj.

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The displays need to be dis-associated from their donor cars before removal via Tech2, and then associated to their new car. I'm not sure you can go from a mono display to colour though without other changes matey

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thank's for your quick reply,I think i'll leave it as it is!

  4. #4
    Regular Member Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Tyne & Wear
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Just to make you feel a bit better, if itís the same one I had in my 52 plate sri and also my 54 plate elite then although itís a yellow screen its not the basic one. My brothers faceflift sri has the worst info display ive seen. Itís a throwback to the 80ís with massive LCD style text, nothing like the small dots that make up the text on mine.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Milton Keynes, Bucks
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yep an 80's throwback, sounds just like the one on my late '05 SRi, big and blocky!! last time I saw pixels that big was on a ZX81 [just in case: old computer with plug and play tv - not supplied]

  6. #6
    Regular Member Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Tyne & Wear
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i cant understand why they changed it? the previous version ie pre facelift was fine as it was.

  7. #7
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    They changed it when they switched to the full canbus system peeps. (i.e 2005)

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy
    Just to make you feel a bit better, if itís the same one I had in my 52 plate sri and also my 54 plate elite then although itís a yellow screen its not the basic one. My brothers faceflift sri has the worst info display ive seen. Itís a throwback to the 80ís with massive LCD style text, nothing like the small dots that make up the text on mine.
    I feel worse as i'm sure it's the same ugly one you're talking about(half lcd screen,no info other than date,radio station,temp)it's so bad!

  9. #9
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    lol!! i was gonna say that you might make him feel worse because he might actually have that one!

    unlucky fella - worse things can happen.

  10. #10
    Regular Member Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Tyne & Wear
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. on board computer
    By skip85 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th February 2013, 12:14
  2. Board Computer on a 2004 3.2 Gsi - Tech2 options ?
    By Woody in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24th July 2012, 13:43
  3. board computer
    By winnie2457 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th February 2010, 21:16
  4. trip computer upgrade!
    By Rickiw in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd January 2009, 22:34
  5. anyone added trip computer/board computer?
    By Craig1985 in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th August 2008, 02:33

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c trip computer upgrade

vectra c change trip computer

how to upgrade vectra to trip co.computer

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •