User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Handbreak cable reset?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Gävle, Sweden
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Handbreak cable reset?

    My handbreak cable is way to tight now, can it be reset somehow? There seems to be an adjuster of some kind under the console (where the lever mechanism is located). Can this be reset here?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tyneside
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You can adjust the handbrake cable at the lever, just lift the rubber gaitor. The cable usually need adjusting when it stretches i.e. too loose, not too tight. Have you checked the rear pads are not worn and also that the cable is not seized. HTH

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Gävle, Sweden
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Have just replaced the rear pads, and noticed that the cable was too loose (i.e. parking brake not working). I removed the console inside the car, and pulled the lever a few times. Now the cable seems to be way too tight?! So I assumed there was some automatic adjuster at the lever.

    The lever is connected to a pin with a spring, can this pin be adjusted in some way?

    If I would like to replace the cable. so do I need to disassemble the exhaust system??

  4. #4
    Regular Member monty2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    swansea
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Pre Face, Colour Coded, CR Tech Box, Pipercross Panel filte, Blanked EGR :-)

    Trim : Club

    Engine : 1.9cdti 16v

    Year : 2005

    Default

    how do u adjust the handbrake is there a how 2?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Gävle, Sweden
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Anybody please? I need some advice in how to release the automatic adjuster located near the handbrake lever.

  6. #6
    Regular Member DaveW555's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cannock
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    They are self adjusting, put your foot on the brake and pull the handbrake a few times you should feel it through the brake pedal, give the handbrake 5-10 pulls and release the foot brake and se how it is then.

  7. #7
    Regular Member monty2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    swansea
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Pre Face, Colour Coded, CR Tech Box, Pipercross Panel filte, Blanked EGR :-)

    Trim : Club

    Engine : 1.9cdti 16v

    Year : 2005

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveW555 View Post
    They are self adjusting, put your foot on the brake and pull the handbrake a few times you should feel it through the brake pedal, give the handbrake 5-10 pulls and release the foot brake and se how it is then.
    do you do it with the engine running or without mate?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. handbreak question.....
    By vectra gsi 3.2 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th December 2012, 02:13
  2. Adjusting Handbreak
    By Alank in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th December 2011, 23:26
  3. Need to replace handbreak cables
    By stryker99 in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th July 2010, 15:03
  4. XBox 360 VGA cable and Advanced SCART cable FS
    By RSV_Ecosse in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd February 2007, 00:01

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c handbrake reset

vectra c hanbrake resetreseting handbrake cable in vectra c

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •