User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CD 70 Sat Nav Suddenly can't locate car!!

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    West Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default CD 70 Sat Nav Suddenly can't locate car!!

    I have 07 plate Signum Elite CDTI, used sat nav today to visit a new client, no problems.
    On return to car just pressed the "home" button to start navi. Got "please proceed to the planned route" command then told to turn right when I knew it should be left, so looked at map and position arrow had me placed about 100 yards away from actual position!
    I have taken CD out a & put it back in but it still not locating correct position. When driving it shows car in wrong position, so any navigation is impossible.
    Any ideas to what has happened?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North East
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sometimes get's it's knickers in a twist or it's a sign the aerial is going faulty, not a cheap replacement for the full aerial base, cheaper option is to get a "patch" GPS aerial with a fakra plug from ebay only about £10.

  3. #3
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    definately sounds like the aerial base signal amplifier is going belly up.

    I have patch aerials from e-bay in both my Cavalier (yes I know!!) and the wife's Vectra-c

    Both are fitted with CD70, and both locate immediately, all of the time, and are usually within about 20 feet. No problems with either aerial, even after about 5 years of usage.

    Only thing to bare in mind with patch aerials, is that they like to have line-of-sight exposure to the sky...especially through the wind-screen.

    The Cav one is velcro'd to the top of my dash near to my tax disc.
    The Vectra one is inside the grill panel in the centre of the air-vent on top of the dash (where the centre speaker can be fitted).

  4. #4
    Regular Member Exclusive BV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    West Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeap defo the aerial.

    If you check how many satty's are being received at the present time (in the settings)
    I bet it will be 3 or less. (probably 1 or 2) hence the 100 yards offset in position.

    check the connections and stuff first though obviously

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    West Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for the replies.
    Got in the car the following day and all is well
    Must have just thrown a wobbly or impending problems ahead, but absolutely back to pin point navi now

  6. #6
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Glad it's sorted

    Yep, sounds like a wobbly had been thrown !!

  7. #7
    Regular Member Jason123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Exclusive BV View Post
    Yeap defo the aerial.

    If you check how many satty's are being received at the present time (in the settings)
    I bet it will be 3 or less. (probably 1 or 2) hence the 100 yards offset in position.

    check the connections and stuff first though obviously
    How do you check how many sats are visible??

  8. #8
    Regular Member Exclusive BV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    West Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    My mistake, does not look as if you can on these , Although the altitude accuracy is normally the first thing to degreade if the reception is poor.

    Vx state the tolerance for these units is 30m

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North East
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Think you get some info with the radio in test mode, can't remember exactly what though.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. i can't locate the power steering fluid
    By jamesuk in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th August 2011, 10:47
  2. Locate Address By Phone Number
    By spennny in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 31st May 2011, 17:47
  3. Vectra SRI 2006 , holes to locate griffin badge??
    By stuartiwilson79 in forum Styling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th March 2011, 22:43
  4. Help Me Locate Speed Pulse
    By Ashg in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th February 2009, 23:17
  5. 2.2 Dti - No. 3 plug. How do I locate it?
    By Saggy in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th December 2008, 11:38

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •