User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Check brake light switch

  1. #1
    Regular Member dolf.peeters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Eire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Check brake light switch

    any idea what I do with the above error showing on the onboard? apart from pressing ok?

  2. #2
    Ex-Staff Full Member John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Facelift Insignia/Corsa D

    Trim : LE/VXR

    Engine : 2.0 cdti/1.6 Turbo

    Year : 13/07

    Default

    Does it actually say check brake light switch?

  3. #3
    Regular Member dolf.peeters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Eire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john.robertson2 View Post
    Does it actually say check brake light switch?
    it does and shows a symbol of a swith like this one , only in a circle

  4. #4
    Regular Member byebyeitsagsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ohhh very fancy never knew they done this. The brake light switch will be above the brake pedal, might aswell buy a new one and fit it should'nt be expensive.

  5. #5
    Regular Member winnie2457's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    kings lynn, norfolk
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    This switch is used for putting the brake lights on when you press the pedal and I think the cruise control uses it to disengage the cruise once brake is pressed

    Check the connectors and replace if needed

    Press the pedal does your brake lights come on and if you have cruise control does it cut out when the brake is pressed

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    ROCHESTER, KENT
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default check brake light switch

    I have just had the same problem with the same display.
    I took my car (2005 Vectra C tdci ) to my local garage to have it code read. They only had a Bosch machine but it indicated 10 faults and would not let them be rest.
    I then contacted a Auto Electricia who had tech 2 equipment, he found that this fault was caused by a blown fuse - F14 in the fuse box in the engine compartment. Fuse replaced, faults reset and all ok. cost £25
    I now have a couple of spare fuses "just in case"

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    N/A
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Golf 7

    Trim : GTD

    Engine : 2.0 TDI 184PS

    Year : 2014

    Mileage : 40000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john.robertson2 View Post
    Does it actually say check brake light switch?
    Yip and was actually the cause of my cruise control woes. Still get the warning occasionally, just means the switch needs recalibrating - so a mechanic told me.

  8. #8
    Ex-Staff Full Member John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Facelift Insignia/Corsa D

    Trim : LE/VXR

    Engine : 2.0 cdti/1.6 Turbo

    Year : 13/07

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gazza4 View Post
    Yip and was actually the cause of my cruise control woes. Still get the warning occasionally, just means the switch needs recalibrating - so a mechanic told me.
    You read the date on this bud

  9. #9
    Regular Member the-wizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tamworth - ''The Capital of Mercia''
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra-c

    Trim : sri

    Engine : cdti

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 98,000

    Default

    get this lots also with other simular related faults, just clear it (ok), in most cases its just a glitch.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    middlesbrough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by the-wizard View Post
    get this lots also with other simular related faults, just clear it (ok), in most cases its just a glitch.
    ive got the same problem i get the brakelight switch warning on display, and the brakelights work for 2 secs then go off if you then press ok on display brake lights start to work again but go off again after 2 secs, after doing a few cheks a fuse was blown nex to glove box so i replaced it , worked perfectly after thAT for 2 days and then the fuse blew again and same prob occured, im now changeing the fuse every 2 days until sum1 on here who has had the same prob repaired can advise me

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Check Right Brake Light
    By Dobs in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20th October 2012, 09:13
  2. Check brake light switch = no turbo?!?! HELP!!
    By se4 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th June 2012, 21:21
  3. Check Brake Light
    By gavmckay in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th May 2012, 11:15
  4. Brake Light Check
    By tangoman in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th October 2009, 22:11
  5. Check 3rd Centre Brake Light
    By Downunder in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th September 2007, 16:14

Visitors found this page by searching for:

https:www.vectra-c.comforumshowthread.php114016-Check-brake-light-switch

check brake light switch vectra c

brake light switch vectra c

vauxhall vectra brake light switch

vauxhall astra sri brake light switch warning

2005 vectra brake light switch

vectra cruise control not working brake lights stuck on

vauxhall vectra C stop-light switch

vauxhall vectra c brake light switch

changing brake switch in Vauxhall vectra 1.8brake light switch vectra c mit jelentvauxhall vectra rear brake lights not workingvectra c brake light switch faultbrake light switch opel vectra cbrakelight switch of vectra c problemevectra brake lights stuck onwhere is.breaklamp switch on vectra cvectra c breaklamp switchbreaklamp switch vectra cvauxhall vectra 1.8 check brake lightsholden astra check brake light switch notificationbrake light switch vectra c traducereCheck brake.light opel corsa hvectra c brake lights stay onvectra c brake light switch cruise control

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •