User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: 3.0 CDTi lame

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Norfolk 'n Good Drives : Signum 3.0 CDTi BHP : 229.8 Torque 344.9lb
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default 3.0 CDTi lame

    Since having our used signum for 2 months, we have noticed the turbo noise has changed to a more aesthmatic noise earlier in the rev range, before then becoming a high pitch whistle during acceleration, making the performance seem a little lame compared to when we first got the car, it also seems a little smokey at times and I feel there is something not 100% right. Now I know if I go to the dealer they are gonna fob me off (Network Q car) or they wont have experience of the 3.0 to know how it should be, is there something I can site as the problem to make them see my point of view?

    The car has 22k on the clock and is a year old, we have had a pbox fitted for a month which whilst fitted made the car much more sprightly - but did leave huge plumes of black smoke in it's wake - box now removed whilst its being investigated.

  2. #2
    Regular Member SignumPhil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've heard from another owner that some early cars had dodgy air filter elements, which clogged up very quickly. The acid test is to get the garage to do an MOT emissions test, which it will fail on particulate emissions, if this is the problem.
    A new element solves the problem.

    HTH, Phil

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Norfolk 'n Good Drives : Signum 3.0 CDTi BHP : 229.8 Torque 344.9lb
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    air filter element = new air filter?

    if thats the case - I was considering a K&N replacement anyway.

    Also the dealer SHOULD have serviced the car prior to us taking it, but the service indicator wasnt reset, and I'm starting to think they havnt changed the oil or filters either.

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Graeme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SCOTLAND
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you could be right. i changed my air filter to a k+n on my 2.2 and the airbox was full of stuff. i wonder if its because of the air intake scoop. I'm going to try and get into the routine of cleaning my airbox out every 3 or 4 months.

    hope you get the problem solved mate

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Kitchpoo, as a quick test, remove the air filter element replace the air box lid and take it for a run. If the performance is improved change the element.
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  6. #6
    Ex-Staff Full Member ian_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : i500

    Trim : i500

    Engine : V6 3.0CDTi

    Year : 2005

    Default

    i know that there is upgrade on the 3.0cdti software, i had a problem with engine light so with no hesitation they remapped the ECU with the new software, but my 3.0cdti was brand new on 10 march on 05. they said upgrade has boosted the turbo and alter the pressure on the jets so it should and was alot better.UNTIL i had the tunit box fitted
    so kitchpoo get the car in and ask about the new upgrade on software
    Last edited by ian_c; 2nd August 2005 at 17:36.

  7. #7
    Regular Member SignumPhil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ian_c
    i know that there is upgrade on the 3.0cdti software, i had a problem with engine light so with no hesitation they remapped the ECU with the new software, but my 3.0cdti was brand new on 10 march on 05. they said upgrade has boosted the turbo and alter the pressure on the jets so it should and was alot better.UNTIL i had the tunit box fitted
    so kitchpoo get the car in and ask about the new upgrade on software
    Was yours the problem where the engine light comes on, and it refuses to start, then fires up if you leave it 5 minutes?

    Phil

  8. #8
    Ex-Staff Full Member ian_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : i500

    Trim : i500

    Engine : V6 3.0CDTi

    Year : 2005

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SignumPhil
    Was yours the problem where the engine light comes on, and it refuses to start, then fires up if you leave it 5 minutes?

    Phil
    yes that happend once at a set it of traffic lights it just stoped,felt a right tw*t in a brand new vec-C so i book it stright in and thats when i found out about the new software upgrade

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Norfolk 'n Good Drives : Signum 3.0 CDTi BHP : 229.8 Torque 344.9lb
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    its going in to the dealer tomorrow - will see if I can sound them out on the upgraded software, and maybe ask them to double check the service was actually done (as it wasnt done by that dealer)

  10. #10
    Vectra-C Obsessed Poster Drinky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    on your momma !!!!!!!!!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    good luck 2morrow dont take any main stealer drivvle off them

    Back in a V6 !!!!!!!!!!!! And lovin it !!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. bonnet release seem lame
    By baz2003uk in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 26th July 2012, 08:51
  2. Vectra 1.9 CDTI Sri Versus 3.0 CDTI V6 Sri
    By collateral in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 21st April 2009, 20:18
  3. Weird noise from Signum CDTI 1.9 CDTI (150)
    By oneightycd in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd June 2007, 22:27

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •