User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: fitting new headunit

  1. #1
    Regular Member decks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    nothern ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2.0t btcc




    Default fitting new headunit

    i want to install a sony headunit in my vectra 05 full canbus do i need any extra leads or is it a straight swop, not worried about steering wheel controls, as long as i still have my trip coumputer still working.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Fig-sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    N.I
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Aye lad straight forward enough, you can keep your controls depends what sort of unit your getting....

  3. #3
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    This is a common question, and so this is a general over-view of what to look for, when changing the head unit.

    What is your original radio.?

    If it is a CCR, CDR, NCDC, NCDR type radio, then yes it is ALMOST plug and play. (ISO) - Half Canbus

    If yours is a CD30, CDC40, CD50 or CD70 Navi, then no it is slightly complicated. (QUADLOCK) - Full canbus

    QUADLOCK RADIOS
    The CD30 (and so on) radios are considered Full CAN items, and have a Quadlock Connector on the back, where as the others noted in the first paragraph have the old fashioned ISO connector.

    If yours is indeed a Quadlock radio, then it is more involved, but not too difficult.
    You will need: -
    A Conversion lead (ISO to Quadlock), same as a Parrot interface / ISO2CAR / SOT lead.
    You will need to take your ignition live from the cigar lighter / charge socket (black wire),
    and again, you will need the steering wheel conversion loom.

    If you don't have the scroller wheel controls, but have a quadlock radio and a display without clock buttons, then you will need to have the wheel mounted controls fitted.
    Your steering wheel may not be configured to take the controls (missing pins in internal sockets), and even if it is, then the scroller controls may need to be enabled via tech 2
    If you have the small display with the clock buttons, then you will not need additional switches and wheel controls.

    You will also need the aerial connector adaptor plug (fakra plug)


    ISO RADIOS

    If yours has the ISO connection, then you will need to swap your red and yellow wires on the Sony loom.
    Also if you wish to use the steering wheel controls, then you will need a conversion loom from places like Halfords - Approx £15, and is manufacturer specific.

    Finally depending upon your display screen, will dictate whether you may need an aditional wiper stalk, with additional computer switches. (ISO radios)
    If adding the switch, it may need to be tech 2 programmed, to show it's "presence" as part of the "variance" coding.

    You will require the more standard ISO aerial adapter plug.
    Last edited by Robsey; 29th June 2010 at 00:06.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Rab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Irvine
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    im very confused?
    i want to change my stereo from the cd30 to the cd70
    or tbh any stereo with bluetooth and ipod.

    * does the cd70 have ipod & bluetooth?
    * will be trip computer work without a vauxhall headunit because you need the bc button to reset and use the trip?
    * can i upgrade the cd30 to bluetooth & mp3?

  5. #5
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rab View Post
    im very confused?
    i want to change my stereo from the cd30 to the cd70
    or tbh any stereo with bluetooth and ipod.

    * does the cd70 have ipod & bluetooth?
    * will be trip computer work without a vauxhall headunit because you need the bc button to reset and use the trip?
    * can i upgrade the cd30 to bluetooth & mp3?
    One question at a time..

    It is quite easy to change a CD30 to CDC40, CD50 and CD70 Navi..a little wiring modification, and a change of display, however, if you have BC functions already, then you must have either a board info display or a graphic info display.
    The CD70 must use either a graphic display, or a colour display.
    Note also that the colour screen requires an extra video lead.

    NONE of the OEM radios (CD30 and so on) have Ipod or bluetooth built in, but all the OEM radios can be fitted with a parrot kit or dennison ice link to achieve this (Ipod or external input)...or you can use a parrot or Nokia Kit to allow bluetooth connectivity, using the telemute system.
    You will need an ISO2CAR or SOT lead to fit the extra wires (Telemute) and external audio in, so that the phone call comes through the front speakers.

    The trip computer etc will still work, if it was working in the first place.
    (Only the Triple Info Display with the clock buttons is unable to have trip computer functions).
    If you don't yet have the board computer / tri computer functions enabled, and you dont have clock buttons on the display bezel, thenit will need to be Tech 2 activated. (Vauxhall handheld programmer).

    You will however have to have the steering wheel controls fitted to work the trip computer. Also to control the radio from the steering wheel, you will need the manufacturer specific wheel control adapter loom (JVC, Sony, Kenwood etc).

  6. #6
    Regular Member ditchp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The world famous city ground
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra cdti estate

    Trim : Get a

    Engine : Dirty diesel

    Year : 2006

    Default

    i have a sony HU and i brought the ''sony interface'' for the car so that the screen and steering wheel controll's still work, just plug and play, just don't forget the feed from the front cig lighter for the HU's memory function if ignition controlled power

    HTH
    Midlands Mod Shop - NFFC.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Rab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Irvine
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    so if i get an aftermarket headunit, and the wheel control adapter my trip computer will still work?
    also is there another way to reset the trips etc using the steering wheel? because i only know how to do it on the headunit so if i change the head unit i wont be able to reset the trip?

    sorry not very electrically minded and never had a vauxhall before.

  8. #8
    Regular Member brigrif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    South Shields
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have a JVC avx33 in mine, it's single din with dvd bluetooth, handsfree kit included and has usb for ipod hdd or any other usb storage device. Can even stream music via bluetooth from your phone. Just an extra thought for you

  9. #9
    Regular Member Rab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Irvine
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    does your trip still work and can you reset them?

  10. #10
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    The wheel controls will do all the trip computer stuff on the full CAN radio set up.

    Older cars with Half CAN radio set-ups would require the switches on the end of the wiper stalk to control their trip computer functions.

    Obviously, as you have a 2006 Full CAN display, then your controls are indeed via the steering wheel scroller wheels and buttons.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fitting jvc headunit problems!!!
    By Marvec in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 19th October 2012, 19:44
  2. Headunit
    By rad9944 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th February 2012, 08:49
  3. Fed up - please help... Aftermarket double din headunit fitting
    By andyfeeny in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23rd July 2010, 19:42
  4. New headunit
    By crazychemist76 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th February 2007, 16:08

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •