User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: CDC40 Aux In

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default CDC40 Aux In

    I upgraded my CD30 to a CDC40 last year, but never bothered with the DAB box as I have no use for.
    Please can anyone tell me if it is possible to use the DAB input to the CDC40 as an 'aux in' for my ipod? I haven't bought any in-car hardware for the ipod yet so will get whatever is necessary if it's possible.
    I'll be getting the subwoofer output activated so if any software changes are necessary I could get them done at the same time.

    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    According to TIS, it is believed that you can indeed use the DAB input pins for AUX-in, however you would need a trigger to switch the headunit to the DAB source input for it to work correctly.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for that.
    At present, when I press the Tuner switch it cycles through AM, FM and then DAB, when it tells me 'DAB Box Error'. I guess that once there is a signal going into the input it would then say 'DAB' and therefore activate that input?
    Basically, I'd be fooling the head unit that it was receiving the DAB signal even though it was from the Ipod.
    I wonder if I could change the head unit to say 'Ipod' instead of 'DAB' via TECH2? That would be neat!

  4. #4
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    No this wont happen.

    You are getting DAB error, because the display is expecting to find one, when there isn't one present.

    You cannot change the display to say ipod in, the only options are Aux-In, (via jack socket where fitted - July 2007 onward), External-In (for telephone / bluetooth in via Telemute), AM, FM, CD, MP3-CD and DAB.

    What you'd need to do in reality is to get a DAB unit paired into the stereo system, and then replace the audio output wires from the DAB unit with the audio output wires from your Ipod.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ah, I see.
    Many thanks for your help.

  6. #6
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    The reason for this, is that all components in the car now do a bit of a hand-shake, so to speak. This is the function of the CAN ( or often called can-bus) system - it allows all "intelligent" modules to speak to each other, and they then exchange information in order of importance.

    The display sends a data signal to the DAB box...as if to say "Hello", and when it gets no reply, it then goes "oh eck!!" and reports an error message.

    If you got all three units - Screen, DAB and head-unit ready paired up, then it is merely a matter of connecting the wires up for the dab box which are: -

    1 - green/brown - left audio + to radio pin 31
    2 - shield - left audio ground to radio pin 38
    3 - green -mid speed can high - data link to display pin 17
    4 - red - permanent live - to fuse 1 (20A)
    10 - blue/red - right audio + to radio pin 32
    11 - shield - right audio ground to radio pin 38
    12 - white - mid speed can low - data link to display pin 18
    13 - brown - chassis ground

    In your case, you would not use wires 1,2,10 and 11.
    Instead you would connect up your aux input wires to the radio pins mentioned.
    hope this helps

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    That's great Robsey, thank you.

  8. #8
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    If it helps, the Red +12V feed is from the same fuse as the radio itself, so you could simply tap into the red wire in the main quadlock connector.

    I presume from the last cheary response, that all three components did indeed come paired together.
    In that case, it will indeed be a matter of connecting up the power and CAN wires to the DAB unit.
    And the audio wires to your aux-in jack socket.

    Regarding the thanks, you're welcome, that's what forums are for!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. CDC40 to CDC40 MP3 upgrade.... any advice?
    By eamond in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th September 2012, 08:02
  2. cdc40 Aux in
    By StephNET in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd March 2010, 00:03
  3. CDC40 and Aux in??
    By caspy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th August 2009, 17:06
  4. CDC40 DAB yay or nae?
    By ronnie63 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th July 2009, 16:22
  5. Cdc40 Mp3
    By SJG in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th June 2008, 20:34

Visitors found this page by searching for:

cdc40 dab aux www.vectra-c.com

cdc40 external in

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •