User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Needs ideas on veccy install...

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Needs ideas on veccy install...

    Hi guys very confused and angry at mo...cannot get my sound how i want it to sound....have jsut purchased new single din for my vectra 02. Alpine it is, very good head unit..prob i have is the sub keeps cutting out infrequently and i dnt knw if this is the amp on too high a gain, or is it the sub that is crap?

    Spec; juice amp 2400w. (so it says)
    pioneer 1000 w 12" sub..
    What is best combo ?? Is it that the sub should be twice as powerful as the amp or....?


    P.s the wiring for the sub is **** btw, its quite thin..could it be this >?

  2. #2
    Regular Member ba1ny82's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    as far as i aware the combo surjested could blow ur sub. i recommend a smaller amp watt than ur sud watt eg 800w amp 1000 sub. make sure the wire is thicker too lol

  3. #3
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    271 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    to high a power amp will blow the sub, to low an amp will cause clipping (basically move the cone out and keep it there!) rather than normally excursion.. But if its cutting out altogether it could well be radio outputs or amp cutting out.. Is there a green 'on' light on the amp you can check when it cuts out?

    btw, when checking wattages the true figure to check is measured in RMS
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

  4. #4
    Regular Member Knight Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Motherwell
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C SRi 1.8vvti

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 18.vvti

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 29,500

    Default

    Change the wiring on the sub matey,I had this problem as the cable was too thin, upgraded it to a thicker cable and all is well with it.hth

  5. #5
    Regular Member keith1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sheffield / Spalding
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra 1.8 SRi

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : Z18XE

    Year : 2004

    Default

    Checking your earth connections might be worth while a poor earth can cause all sorts of problems.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    nottingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Iv got two 1600watt vibe black air 2s and a 3000watt vibe monoblock amp useing 4AWG cable and iv never had any problems at all and its been pumping out bass for 4 years now!! and it sounds spot on crisp loud and tight soo my advise get one there ace lol

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Palma de Mallorca
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have a Rockford amp 1200 W RMS, and a Rockford subwoofer 500W RMS. The power cord has a 33mm section, and I have no problem with the installation. I installed everything myself.
    Check the ground cable, make good contact.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Vectra King's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bolton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Your amp should be atleast have size of your sub

  9. #9
    Regular Member g33had's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ignore all ratings UNLESS they are RMS!!

    Match RMS to RMS, peak power is a sales gimmick!

    Best combination in a hypothetical situation...
    2x 12" 1600w peak/500w RMS Subwoofers
    1x 800-1000w RMS amplifier to power the pair.

    That would be serious power, i only run 700w RMS to a pair of 10" Alpine Type-R's and it is serious bass hehe.
    Make sure your running 4 gauge power cables aswell and your ground/earth is real good. No real need for a power-cap to be honest.

    No need for 0 gauge either unless you are running 2000w+ RMS atleast, with multiple amps etc etc.

  10. #10
    Regular Member Jezzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    S.E
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    A "Gallery" thread devoid of any pictures.....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Drosser Veccy B old hand Veccy C virgin
    By drosser in forum Introduce yourself.
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th November 2012, 06:42
  2. Map ideas for veccy 150 please??
    By richiem in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st January 2011, 20:15
  3. Thermostat from a 1999-02 veccy onto a 2003-05 veccy?
    By Drazek in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 9th January 2011, 22:21
  4. new install
    By stuart bigboy in forum ICE Gallery
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 24th June 2008, 23:29
  5. CK-7W Install
    By SJG in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st February 2008, 11:06

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •