User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Belt or Chain ?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Doncaster
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Belt or Chain ?

    Hello again.

    So i went ahead and bought the vectra i was looking at and i love it, effortless to drive, comfortable and fairly nippy to say its only the 1.9 cdti 120.

    Anyways here's the question, does the 55 plate 1.9 CDTI Design vectra have a Cam belt or a cam chain ?

    I've tried looking around the net and asking different people but nobody seems to know for sure. A few peolpe have said that the 6 speed diesels all have the chain ?

    I bought the car with no history and im having the clutch done soon so as there is no history i want to get the belt done at the same time if it is a belt.

    Hope i can get this cleared up and thanks for taking the time to read guys..

  2. #2
    Regular Member Celes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Slovenia, Koper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Belt.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Doncaster
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    cheers Celes. Sorry to question it mate but how do you know ? just wondering since there is a lot of conflicting info about this ?

  4. #4
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's a belt, anyone who says it's a chain is wrong.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  5. #5
    Regular Member Celes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Slovenia, Koper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Although I have to say I have read that Saab put a chain on that engine instead of a belt...
    Nevertheless, Vauxhall use belts

  6. #6
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Celes View Post
    Belt.
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    It's a belt, anyone who says it's a chain is wrong.
    110%

  7. #7
    Forum Moderator John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Dti's have chains - CDTi's have belts

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Doncaster
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Cheers everyone. Start planning on getting the belt done at the same time as the dmf & clutch. whats the rough price for the belt itself ?

  9. #9
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john.robertson2 View Post
    Dti's have chains - CDTi's have belts
    Although the early 3.0 diesels were badged as DTi on the boot but have CDTi on the V5 - and use belts
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  10. #10
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Chain only on 2.0T and 2.2 petrols, and 2.0 and 2.2 DTI diesels.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. belt or chain
    By renblade in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd March 2010, 02:03
  2. Belt or chain ????
    By irmscher-brett in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 19th February 2010, 11:10
  3. Chain or belt?
    By Gripper in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th June 2008, 11:19
  4. Chain or Belt??
    By willc01 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 4th July 2007, 15:51
  5. Cam Belt or Chain
    By ROB WOODHOUSE in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th August 2006, 17:33

Visitors found this page by searching for:

07 plate 1.9 cdti sri vectra is it chain or belt

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •