User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: vectra estate tow bar electrics

  1. #1
    Regular Member MACVECT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default vectra estate tow bar electrics

    I have a 54 plate estate and am lost as to how to wire in a single socket tow bar socket . I need this to tow a boat on a trailer board, can anyone guide me as to how I do it, preferably with pictures. Many thanks in advance, be gentle, as I`m useless on electrics. Mac

  2. #2
    Regular Member John35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    in a white box
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Depends on what route you want to take. You can either get the already installed socket activated by tech 2 or fit a bypass relay.

    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showthread.php?t=110140
    Last edited by John35; 8th June 2010 at 21:40. Reason: link added

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    As above although you won't always need tech 2.

    If you buy the VX kit you'll also get some instructions

  4. #4
    Regular Member MACVECT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    sorry guys ,told you I was thick, The set up shown does`nt look like that of my estate and what is Tech 2

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lincs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There's a fuse box behind the lining on the left side of the boot. Vauxhall do a wiring kit, for about £50, which just plugs into the fuse box.

    Tech2 is the Vauxhall computer system which is used for diagnostics and programming of electrical functions on the car - some say you need to activate the wiring kit with the tech2 but I didn't need to, it just worked.

    You could splice trailer wiring directly into the wiring for the rear lights but the bulb failure warning (if you have one) would probably be constantly on with the trailer connected unless you wired it all in via a relay. If that all sounds a bit daunting the best bet would be the vauxhall wiring kit.

  6. #6
    Regular Member MACVECT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for that info. I took your advice and purchased the kit, which I duly fitted, to be told by Vauxhall that it needed to go on Tech 2. I have read your info. again and toorrow I will try and see if all works without tech2 , as yours did. Thanks again for the info. Most Greatful to you and all replies.

  7. #7
    Regular Member winnie2457's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    kings lynn, norfolk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Once all plugged in you will need a fuse to go into one of the spare slots on the rear fusebox where the socket plugs into I can't recall the fuse number but it won't work without it

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lincs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No fuse needed for me - just plugged and played.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Vectra C towbar electrics help
    By zipolly in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18th August 2011, 16:09
  2. Vectra C - 2002 - Electrics Cutting Out.
    By Nicko_12345 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 28th September 2010, 17:43

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c hatchback towbar electrics

towbar electrics vectra c

vectra c towbar electrics not working

how to wire a vauxhall vectra towbar

Vectra Estate factory tow bar

2009 vauxhall vectra estate towbar electrics

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •